2014 smart fortwo

    (74 Reviews)




    MSRP
    $13,270 - $17,930
    Advertisement

    '08-'14 smart fortwo Owner Reviews

    Average Rating

    74 Owner Reviews

    Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Review of 2012 smart fortwo

    Apr 15, 2013 by: beowerdhs
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Smart Car

    May 17, 2011 by: kelli2me
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    We LOVE our little smart car. On a recent trip we averaged 44.9 mpg. The car is extremely roomy for such a small vehicle. The car gets a lot of attention everywhere it goes, so we decided to have it wrapped and advertise our business, www.AmishWares.com. The price is affordable and most people do not realize it is made by Mercedes-Benz.

    Excellent Car to tow behind motorhome

    Feb 13, 2011 by: yrosef3291
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I tow my Smartcar behind my Roadtrek motorhome and it is great. No problems at all. Love to drive it day to day. Highly recommend for RV'ers.

    Review of 2009 smart fortwo

    Jul 23, 2010 by: rroche5889
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I have owned my cabrio for two years now. I still get praple coming up to me almost daily to ask about this car. It a fun car to own and drive but it is not for everyone. It is not a performance machine like my E Class Mercedes but she gets great milage and runs on a budget. Suprisingly roomy inside ( I fit easily and I am 6ft 4in and 290 lbs). I do not like to drive this vehicle in the snow and high winds will be felt more than a heavier car. The only complaint I have is the 15 inch wheels allow you to feel pot holes and large bumps. If they could improve the suspension this car would be close to perfect. Air conditioning is excellent as is the heater. Cruise control would be a good option but it is not available in my model. Excellent commuter car.

    Review of 2008 Smart Fortwo

    Jun 21, 2010 by: wrogalski
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    i love my little car it great for what i use it for daily running around--when i need more vehical i take my ford 250 pickup but i hardly ever do ********* great little runabout i average 40 mile to gallion having put on almost 24,000 mile on it i buy another one for sure save me alot money and with me being 6'2 and 260 pounds i'm confortable in it. I see lot reviews written by people that don'r like small cars they shouldn't be writiing about this one it not for everyone but i sure like it. and i'd buy another-----

    Smart is fun!!!

    Jun 07, 2010 by: luraw
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I have a Smart Cabriolet fully loaded. It is a blast to drive-automatic, and manual-stick or tabs on the steering wheel. Great gas mileage.

    What they don't quite tell you on-line

    May 21, 2010 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    >The automatic transmission takes a LOT of getting used to. It is slow in first, takes a long time between gears, and slows during the shifts. NOT a jackrabbit start; more like a turtle. Plus, you must floor it to get decent acceleration from a stop. >Once up to speed, the handling is good, but the electric power steering is not precise. >The sightlines of the Cabriolet are very poor in the rear quarters and directly out the back. You will have blind spots. >The "panoramic" roof on the coupe is a full glass roof, perfectly engineered, but the sun cover is only partially opaque. The sun will come in. The cabriolet top is opaque. >You can fit a lot in the back. Yesterday we put seven plastic shopping bags, plus a full 30-roll pack of TP in the back, and only filled it half-way. >The 2010 model year, if it's ever built, will be short, as they are already planning the 2011s. >No more Brabus (high end) until the 2011 model year. >Every car will have black on it, even the Brabus silver-on-silver. All Cabs have black tops. The gas cap covers are stickers, which fall off when they get hot. >There's no jack. There's a leak sealant and reinflation kit tucked under the passenger seat carpet. But you get free towing to a dealer for the first year. >The warranty covers everything but tires. >Service intervals are 10,000 miles/1 year, and are basically an oil change. Some dealers provide loaners, others don't. >There isn't enough internal storage space for all the things you ordinarily keep in your bigger car. Plan ahead. Go to Target or Wal-mart and get some accessories (in-between seat holders, trunk organizers) to compensate. >Because everything is engineered so precisely, things that are easy on bigger cars are different. E.g., checking fluids requires actually removing the front hood, not just tilting it up. It's easy to remove, but tricky to re-install. You'll get the hang of all of the little "push here, bend this" over time.

    Best ever!!!

    Feb 28, 2010 by: huntressiam
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    We went to check out the Passion not believing we could both fit in it with our 2 small dogs. We are not small people:) Couldn't leave the showroom without it. Took it up the mountains the first day and was shocked how it handled the curves and hills. Passed all the cars on the road. Smart car Denver is the best dealer ever. Very helpful,not pushy,polite, willing to help. We would recommend these people and cars anytime. It is so fun to see peoples expressions when our little squirt zips away from them. Everyone should buy one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We did get alittle worried when the gas gauge wouldn't move. 54 miles to the gallon on first tank. Still working on the first tank.

    Nice Little Car, written by a person who actually owns one !

    Jan 04, 2010 by: rhm1626
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Reading reviews by people who don't own one of these cars is sort of like flying on an airline with a pilot that dosen't know how to fly. Reading comments like "didn't buy", or that you "sit too close to the windshield" are written by people who have some sort of negative agenda towards this car. I currently have six cars licenced and insured, including my 2009 smart Passion coupe. When I purchased it I was aware that it is not a pickup truck, a minivan, full size 4 door sedan or suv. It is a small vehicle for two people that is super easy to park, roomy and easy to get in and out of (I'm 6'3" tall), cheap to buy, and easy on gas. The amazing part of sitting in this vehicle is that if you were blindfolded and then had it taken off after sitting in it you would think you were in a much larger vehicle. On super rough under construction roads like 50 east in Orlando, you have a bit of a rough ride but under normal conditions the ride is very satisfactory, with a bit of sports car flavor. On the open road I find the car to be very happy and solid at 60-65 at faster speeds like on the Turnpike, when you are running 75, which it does effortlessly, you can sometimes feel the tractor trailers that pass going in the 80-90 range. We find that there is plenty of room for grocery shopping behind the seats, and we have the 4 compartment device from Uhaul, which many people have in suv's and minivans, to stop items from rolling around. The automated manual transmission is a bit different and is not as smooth as a regular automatic. I have no problem with it, but my wife wife who is used to fully size G.M., having driven Bick, Olds, and Caddys for the last 25 years, finds it a little hard to get used to. Also I find it shifts into 5th gear too early under some conditions, and requires going back to 4th with the paddle shifter. We use the car mainly for local trips, but have made several 70-90 mile trips (each way) and I think the car would be fine for a commute.

    Review of 2008 smart fortwo

    Dec 09, 2009 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Bought our Smart Fortwo in April 2009. Went to Cerritos Smart Car Orphan Center and got a great deal on the new paint style. Didn't care for the bright colors I'd seen on the road. But the charcoal gray and black was real nice. Went for a test drive and was shocked that this little car has such good acceleration. It is really a fun car. I bought a flatbed trailer to haul it behind my motorhome and use it to commute when I get where I'm going. It gets 33-35 around town and 40 on the highway mpg. It will go 85-90 mph if you are in a hurry. I am 6'2" and 300 pounds the wife is 5'6" and 255 pounds. We sometimes take the smart over the ford mustang 'cause it is easier to get in and out of and is just as comfortable to sit in. I never had so many strangers come up to me and want to talk about a car. The smart turns heads everywhere and if you let strangers sit in it, they are amazed at the room they have in the car. Only drawback is no spare tire.

    1 2 3 4 8

    *The data and content on this web site is subject to change without notice. Neither AOL nor any of its data or content providers shall be liable for errors in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.

    Powered by

    More on the fortwo

    Whether you're a buyer or owner of the 2014 smart fortwo we've got you covered.

    FIND A GREAT USED CAR

    GO
    Powered by
    Get a free CARFAX record check for a used car

    Great Auto Loan Rates

    Low Rates on New and Used Autos

    Powered By Apply In One Easy Step »
    Read customer reviews from smart owners to see how they rate the 2014 fortwo; or share your opinion of the smart fortwo.
    Best Deal:
    Our Price:
    Savings:
    MSRP:
    Go Back to Best Deals »