2009 smart fortwo
    MSRP
    $11,990 - $20,990
    Get a Quote
    14 Owner Reviews
    Advertisement

    2009 smart fortwo Owner Reviews

    Average Rating

    14 Owner Reviews

    Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Review of 2009 smart fortwo

    Jul 23, 2010 by:
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I have owned my cabrio for two years now. I still get praple coming up to me almost daily to ask about this car. It a fun car to own and drive but it is not for everyone. It is not a performance machine like my E Class Mercedes but she gets great milage and runs on a budget. Suprisingly roomy inside ( I fit easily and I am 6ft 4in and 290 lbs). I do not like to drive this vehicle in the snow and high winds will be felt more than a heavier car. The only complaint I have is the 15 inch wheels allow you to feel pot holes and large bumps. If they could improve the suspension this car would be close to perfect. Air conditioning is excellent as is the heater. Cruise control would be a good option but it is not available in my model. Excellent commuter car.

    What they don't quite tell you on-line

    May 21, 2010 by:
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    >The automatic transmission takes a LOT of getting used to. It is slow in first, takes a long time between gears, and slows during the shifts. NOT a jackrabbit start; more like a turtle. Plus, you must floor it to get decent acceleration from a stop. >Once up to speed, the handling is good, but the electric power steering is not precise. >The sightlines of the Cabriolet are very poor in the rear quarters and directly out the back. You will have blind spots. >The "panoramic" roof on the coupe is a full glass roof, perfectly engineered, but the sun cover is only partially opaque. The sun will come in. The cabriolet top is opaque. >You can fit a lot in the back. Yesterday we put seven plastic shopping bags, plus a full 30-roll pack of TP in the back, and only filled it half-way. >The 2010 model year, if it's ever built, will be short, as they are already planning the 2011s. >No more Brabus (high end) until the 2011 model year. >Every car will have black on it, even the Brabus silver-on-silver. All Cabs have black tops. The gas cap covers are stickers, which fall off when they get hot. >There's no jack. There's a leak sealant and reinflation kit tucked under the passenger seat carpet. But you get free towing to a dealer for the first year. >The warranty covers everything but tires. >Service intervals are 10,000 miles/1 year, and are basically an oil change. Some dealers provide loaners, others don't. >There isn't enough internal storage space for all the things you ordinarily keep in your bigger car. Plan ahead. Go to Target or Wal-mart and get some accessories (in-between seat holders, trunk organizers) to compensate. >Because everything is engineered so precisely, things that are easy on bigger cars are different. E.g., checking fluids requires actually removing the front hood, not just tilting it up. It's easy to remove, but tricky to re-install. You'll get the hang of all of the little "push here, bend this" over time.

    Best ever!!!

    Feb 28, 2010 by:
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    We went to check out the Passion not believing we could both fit in it with our 2 small dogs. We are not small people:) Couldn't leave the showroom without it. Took it up the mountains the first day and was shocked how it handled the curves and hills. Passed all the cars on the road. Smart car Denver is the best dealer ever. Very helpful,not pushy,polite, willing to help. We would recommend these people and cars anytime. It is so fun to see peoples expressions when our little squirt zips away from them. Everyone should buy one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We did get alittle worried when the gas gauge wouldn't move. 54 miles to the gallon on first tank. Still working on the first tank.

    Nice Little Car, written by a person who actually owns one !

    Jan 04, 2010 by:
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Reading reviews by people who don't own one of these cars is sort of like flying on an airline with a pilot that dosen't know how to fly. Reading comments like "didn't buy", or that you "sit too close to the windshield" are written by people who have some sort of negative agenda towards this car. I currently have six cars licenced and insured, including my 2009 smart Passion coupe. When I purchased it I was aware that it is not a pickup truck, a minivan, full size 4 door sedan or suv. It is a small vehicle for two people that is super easy to park, roomy and easy to get in and out of (I'm 6'3" tall), cheap to buy, and easy on gas. The amazing part of sitting in this vehicle is that if you were blindfolded and then had it taken off after sitting in it you would think you were in a much larger vehicle. On super rough under construction roads like 50 east in Orlando, you have a bit of a rough ride but under normal conditions the ride is very satisfactory, with a bit of sports car flavor. On the open road I find the car to be very happy and solid at 60-65 at faster speeds like on the Turnpike, when you are running 75, which it does effortlessly, you can sometimes feel the tractor trailers that pass going in the 80-90 range. We find that there is plenty of room for grocery shopping behind the seats, and we have the 4 compartment device from Uhaul, which many people have in suv's and minivans, to stop items from rolling around. The automated manual transmission is a bit different and is not as smooth as a regular automatic. I have no problem with it, but my wife wife who is used to fully size G.M., having driven Bick, Olds, and Caddys for the last 25 years, finds it a little hard to get used to. Also I find it shifts into 5th gear too early under some conditions, and requires going back to 4th with the paddle shifter. We use the car mainly for local trips, but have made several 70-90 mile trips (each way) and I think the car would be fine for a commute.

    I love my SMART!

    Oct 07, 2009 by:
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I absolutely love my smart. My husband wanted me to get a convertible sports car which is the last thing that I want. I picked this car out and have fallen in love with it! It has pick-up, it's cute, and it is different! One of the main things I look for in a car is it's strangeness. I guess as I look back that is why I have owned some pretty different cars like the Aztek. By far, it has been the most fun!

    Smart and sassy!

    Sep 27, 2009 by:
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I bought my Smart in July with the intent to take it from NC on a trip to NYC. We just got back last week and my Smart lived up to every expectation. Gas mileage was excellent (44mpg) and the comfort level was no worse than other, bigger cars I've owned. It is easy to drive and you definitely don't have that 'crunched up' feel that some small cars have. I'd buy another today if something were to happen to this one.

    Love My Smart Care

    Sep 27, 2009 by:
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Purchased my Smart Cart (Passion) with a $4,500 stimulus credit for a 1999 Suburban clunker with 279,000 miles. It's my second car used primarily for weekend fun. So far, it handles well and has a lot of pep for such a small car.

    Love my Smart Car!

    Aug 05, 2009 by:
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I just bought the 2009 Smart car twofor. I love it. The quality can not be beat for the price. I used the Cash For Clunkers Program for the down payment. I got $4500.00 for a clunker that was not worth more than $700.00. You can't beat that deal. The interest rate on this auto loan was 4.2%. Great deal. The Smart car is made by Mercedas Benz. That's quality for sure! Ther Smart Dealer in Bedford Ohio was great. No high pressure here!

    Review of 2009 smart fortwo

    Jul 10, 2009 by:
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    2009 SMART IS FUN & ECONOMICAL TO OWN & DRIVE

    May 27, 2009 by:
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    We ordered our "SMART" Convertible on line in Dec. 2007 It finally arrived Dec. 2008 and we are very happy with it. We originally planned on taking delivery in New York but between the order and delivery we relocated to south Fla. We notified SMART of our move and the change of delivery to a different location was seamless. We have over 5K miles on it now and we LOVE IT! Easy to drive and park. We are getting 38-40 MPG town and country and 42.5+ on long trips.($15.00 every 2 weeks for gas) Drove it from Fla. to NY on I-95 (1440 miles) and it wasn't a bad trip considering the distance and time it took. (2-days) It is PERFECT of local and around town errands. Holds 2 large/tall adults and a weeks worth of groceries without cramping. Traveling at 65 MPH on the interstate is comfortable and enjoyable.The A/C works well and the power top, door locks and windows works very smoothly. Our plan is to own this little guy for a long time. It just makes sense to have this as a second transportation vehicles. The safety ratings are very high and it is built by Mercedes-Benz with their crash safety engineering includes. The doors are solid and beefy as well as having 4 airbags. Don't pass judgement on this micro-midget until you see the 'cut-a-way' chassis on the dealers sales floor and drive on for a day. Our SMART really belongs to my wife and I have to fight her for the keys if I'd like to take it for a little journey. There are over 1 million 'SMART'S' on the streets of Europe now and they are just finding their way to North America. The Europeans have it right; FUN, SAFE & EONOMICAL! It reallt does work!

    *The data and content on this web site is subject to change without notice. Neither AOL nor any of its data or content providers shall be liable for errors in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.

    Powered by

    FIND A GREAT USED CAR

    GO
    Powered by
    Get a free CARFAX record check for a used car

    Great Auto Loan Rates

    Low Rates on New and Used Autos

    Powered By Apply In One Easy Step »
    Read customer reviews from smart owners to see how they rate the 2009 fortwo; or share your opinion of the smart fortwo.
    Best Deal:
    Our Price:
    Savings:
    MSRP:
    Go Back to Best Deals »