2008 Volkswagen Jetta

    (23 Reviews)




    MSRP
    $19,850
    Advertisement

    2008 Volkswagen Jetta Owner Reviews

    Average Rating

    23 Owner Reviews

    Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    VW Jetta

    Dec 30, 2008 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    This is the worst vehicle I have ever owned. I drive alot for my job and was looking for a dependable vehicle that got good gas milage. This car has been in the shop more than on the road. The dealership has been a nightmare when I try to get my vehicle serviced. I wished I had stayed with Mazda, will NEVER buy a VW again.

    Terriffic Ride

    Dec 30, 2008 by: WEDGECLOSE
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Have had our Jetta for about 8 months with 10000 miles on it. It is a terriffic car. Solid, responsive, good on gas, sporty and practical. Very comfortable cabin setup, heated seats a plus. The only negative thing I can say is that it is a bit noisy on start up. It doesn't effect anything but I find it surprising. It is common to all Jettas. A superb car...in fact am considering buying another for myself as well as one for the wife.

    Jetta '08

    Dec 27, 2008 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    My last 4 cars were Jettas. However, as the electrical systems in the car becomes more sophisticated, the more problems. In the first year, I already had airbag problems and outside mirror light out. Also, the car locks on its own. A friend of mine also had problems of the windows opening and closing on their own. VW needs to address this issue. (My '91 had electrical problems that two dealers could not find; my '03 also had airbag problems which is why I traded it in because of the potential high cost of repair.)

    Review of 2008 Volkswagen Jetta

    Dec 12, 2008 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Ive had 4 vw's and my 2008 2.0 turbo JETTA is AWSOME! If you want: Handling,Solid,SAFE,Reliable,Features,GREAT MPG !--and slightly(well) UPscale- as compared to say-Honda,nissan,Toyota,and the like-this one is for you!my friends have driven my car and wished they bought one! like my Porsche the germans make two great things: CARS and Beer- drive one and you will buy one!! Remember- Porsche,Audi,VW are in the same familiy, The design and development are close. My next car WILL be A VW

    Volkswagen kicks butt!!!

    Nov 03, 2008 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I had a Jetta for over 6 months before I traded it in for a Passat. While the similarities exist, they are both very different with the Passat being the overall best choice. They both get great gas mileage and Volkswagen does not advertise it like other dealers!!! For full appreaciation of a Volkswagen, go to YouTube for video comparisons with other vehicles.

    This is one incredible car!

    Nov 03, 2008 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I did my homework before I went with the Jetta. Test drove a Honda Accord, Ford Fusion and a Toyota Camery. The Jetta had more standard features than the other cars! What sold me was the not just the saftey features, standard features and the solid feeling this car has on the road, but also the way it handled. It LOVES the road and has the power to GO! I've had more fun with this car than I've had in a long time! It's comfortable and safe; has a great stereo system and a very chic interior; love the heated seats! And trunk space?? Buy the Cargo Logic liner and you can haul the kitchen sink!! As for those complaints about repairs? Try owning an MG! Something was wrong every day! Likewise, I'm sure that we all have stories about cars we've owned with repairs and up keep. And as to where they're built? Over 90% of the parts are made in Germany and they're assembled in Mexico. (A better rate than BMWs assembled in the US!) and the Wolfsburg Jetta is made in Germany.

    Volkswagens are JUNK!!!!!

    Nov 03, 2008 by: Idomybest711
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I worked for a VW dealer for almost 3 years. The problems I've seen with them are amazing. They are well built cars but their reliability is terrible. Expensive to maintain & repair. Also a very sparse dealership chain. I would laugh at the types of repairs that were needed on relatively new cars and the difficulty in repairing them. Sometimes it took 3 or more visits to get the repair correct. I had people complain that when the warranty ran out the money they thought they would be able to keep was now being used just to keep the car running. I also heard owner laments about how the monthly repair bills were MORE than the actual payments!!!! Pure garbage. Even American cars are more reliable. The Japanese brands knew reliability was the key to loyal & repeat ownership ala Honda/Toyota/Nissan.

    Christmas Past

    Nov 03, 2008 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    They can have the best car in the world, but that is not going to make up for the past there cars were junk. Window problems, transmissions breaking at less than 10k, and lets not forget the way you are treated at the dealership when you go in for repair. So I say I will never forget. I'll stick with the Japanese!

    This isn't a 100% German car.

    Nov 03, 2008 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    The Volkswagen Jetta is made in Mexico, not Germany. If you want a Volkswagen, go with a Passat. It has a much better drive than the Jetta.

    I love this car

    Oct 02, 2008 by: EDTRAINS22
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I have owned a number of VW's since I bought a used '69 Beetle in 1979. It has always been my favorite car getting me through my college years but this Jetta may be the first car that I like better than my first. It has lots of get up and go when I need it, feels like a much more expensive car and handles great. I love driving it.

    1 2 3

    *The data and content on this web site is subject to change without notice. Neither AOL nor any of its data or content providers shall be liable for errors in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.

    Powered by

    More on the Jetta

    Whether you're a buyer or owner of the 2008 Volkswagen Jetta we've got you covered.

    FIND A GREAT USED CAR

    GO
    Powered by
    Get a free CARFAX record check for a used car

    Great Auto Loan Rates

    Low Rates on New and Used Autos

    Powered By Apply In One Easy Step »
    Read customer reviews from Volkswagen owners to see how they rate the 2008 Jetta; or share your opinion of the Volkswagen Jetta.
    Best Deal:
    Our Price:
    Savings:
    MSRP:
    Go Back to Best Deals »