2002 Volkswagen Jetta

    (9 Reviews)




    MSRP
    $16,850
    Advertisement

    2002 Volkswagen Jetta Owner Reviews

    Average Rating

    9 Owner Reviews

    Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    One of the best cars ive ever driven

    Sep 14, 2014 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I bought this as my first car in May of 2014 with 115,xxx miles on it from a buy here pay here type dealership in downtown orlando, this was a vehicle that had not been well taken care of before i purchased it. Therefor alot of my money has gone into returning the vehicle into its former glory. The vehicle had been driven hard forever and the transmission was beginning to die on me but after a common place repair it became a very quick and very agile road monster that would never stand down to any type of challenge. Ive only ever had problems withe overheating once and that was due to a broken water pump that i personally broke trying to be a racecar driver but other than that and small here and there repairs (oil change, spark plugs, injectors,) which were all performed by myself it is an amazing vehicle and i am glad to own it.

    Miserable Car

    Jan 29, 2014 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    All I can say is that my VW Jetta was in the shop more than it was on the road. Two transmissions, electrical problems, security system problems, over heating, and it was not abused and maintained. Got rid of it at 30,000 miles. Not a reliable car, therefore, would not recommend anyone buying one.

    Bad Car on many levels

    Feb 08, 2011 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Every car maker has glitches and some have recalls. Therein lies the reason to avoid this car company like the plague. I enjoyed driving the car when it was running. Buying a new car should be a fun experience. This was bad from the delivery of the car that had severe paint flaws from the factory - on the hood where it was noticeable. The car had serious and expensive problems from the beginning and the most frustrating part of owning this car was the way the deal refused to fix anything unless I paid for it. The car was eventually sold to someone who could fix the recurring defects and engineering and manufacturing defects. I was not the only person as over time VW closed dealerships rather than fix the cars and waiting until another generation of buyers came along that could be duped by something they could market without dealing with the buyers of past problem cars and lemons. German engineering my rear end. All the German cars have problems - they just don't do recalls like they should and that's enough of a reason to stay away. BMW, Porche and Mercedes all have serious problems and refuse to take responsibility. They pass the cost to customers - with attitude.

    Review of 2002 Volkswagen Jetta

    Aug 07, 2010 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Annoying

    Feb 05, 2010 by: cliffontheroad
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Things influencing me to not buy another VW. Door switch for light and thus alarm is part of latch and would cost $300 parts, mostly labor. Manual is 1/3 photos, 1/3 cautions, and 1/3 "no user servicable parts" yet is 9 times thicker than previous 89&74 manuals (diven 183K miles each). Not even your own headlight will they tell you how. On previous VWs (Scirocco, a real sports car), water pump leaks with wrong antifreeze, timing belt broke at 150K, and master cylinder leaks after 8 years even if you follow maint routine. Break booster leaked, eventually self-applied brakes routinely and no one was able to diagnose this until I sold car to dealer for $100. VW could do so much more if their American office cared and the German engineers applied more Human Engineering. Wagon rear door doesn't like when ice gets into crack. 6' driver can not see speed IF steering wheel is pointed at chest (recommended position.) Non-US models offers better alarm (non-door-switch;break a window to get in) and MANUAL windows. SHame on Michigan! (Note; every electrical windows require monthly up-down else motor will corrode and not work, so I believe and are lead to believe. Like with my broken light switch, disassembly of door makes the dealers profitable.) Too bad that 2010 purchasers won't come back this far to read reviews. :(

    it sucks!

    Dec 30, 2008 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    The worst car for many reasons. But good for others. The dealership not great at all! Problems with the radio turning off and not working, the windows not woring and falling into the car, the pollen filter was broken many times IDK how but it did, that my car smelled that they did have to replacethe rugs after i told them I was going to sew them many problems dont buy a Jetta

    Lousy comarisons with Other makes

    Oct 04, 2008 by: OKEEAERO
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Pisses me off to see the plain Jetta compared to the "fuel efficiant" competators. My TDI averages 46-48 MPG on the highway at speeds of 70-75 steady. In town its the same but I usually have my "foot in it", driving it somewhat aggressively. It has lots of balls for passing and keeping up with the idiots on the road today. I paid $20,550 in 02, and have only had one problem,that with the wastegate, which was replaced under warranty around mile 30,000. It lacks some rear seat room unless the front seat people move up, but with the normal two in the car or kids in the back its as good as any other I've ridden in. If we are going to compare the best economy vehicles then the TSI has to be included and will outperform all others in milage and spirit. AND, NO batteries to replace, no electrical problems to worry about and I am willing to bet the diesel will go 2-300,000 miles. I have been waiting for the new TDI's to trade up, but there is so nothing wrong with what I have, you have to stop and think. Most Sincerely RJ Tanner Originally NH now FL.

    2002 Jetta

    Aug 27, 2007 by: martin0680
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    <p>Great car. Perfect size. Fun to drive. Few problems, but dealership was always very helpful. Reccommended for just about anyone.</p>

    Review of 2002 Volkswagen Jetta

    Jul 27, 2007 by: joshm325i
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    *The data and content on this web site is subject to change without notice. Neither AOL nor any of its data or content providers shall be liable for errors in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.

    Powered by

    More on the Jetta

    Whether you're a buyer or owner of the 2002 Volkswagen Jetta we've got you covered.

    FIND A GREAT USED CAR

    GO
    Powered by
    Get a free CARFAX record check for a used car

    Great Auto Loan Rates

    Low Rates on New and Used Autos

    Powered By Apply In One Easy Step »
    Read customer reviews from Volkswagen owners to see how they rate the 2002 Jetta; or share your opinion of the Volkswagen Jetta.
    Best Deal:
    Our Price:
    Savings:
    MSRP:
    Go Back to Best Deals »