2009 Toyota Tacoma

    (8 Reviews)




    MSRP
    $23,500
    Advertisement

    2009 Toyota Tacoma Owner Reviews

    Average Rating

    8 Owner Reviews

    Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Review of 2009 Toyota Tacoma

    Sep 10, 2009 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I purchased a new 2009 Toyota Tacoma Access Cab in February 2009 and paid a premium for an upgraded sound system. The factory installed sound system was defective and after waiting months for a replacement, another defective radio was installed. It has now been SEVEN MONTHS and I have never had a working radio. Even worse, there is no resolution in sight as Toyota cannot tell me when a working sound system will be available for my vehicle. They have refused to pay to install an after-market replacement system in the truck or compensate me in any way. I'm very disappointed in the lack of quality control and Toyata's response (or lack thereof) to the product defect. This is my last Toyota.

    Review of 2009 Toyota Tacoma

    May 10, 2009 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    1000 miles and love it so far

    Mar 27, 2009 by: hivpozbud
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Seems to be a well built truck. I have a 4-door prerunner 4x2 V6 with an auto trans and power everything. Love the look...lots of accessories available. Comfortable seating and better than expected gas mileage in the city. Traded an '08 Xb and the mileage really isn't that much different. I've removed the XM and replaced it with a sirius unit as I have a lifetime subscription. No nav option kinda irks me as it's available in far lesser vehicles. HVAC fan on low makes a light noise I'm not used to. Tires could be biased a little more towards road than off road as this is LA. LOVE the back up camera but Toyota would have done a better service to their customers to have a Nav system with the back up video integrated into it a la Prius.

    I love this 2009 tacoma regular cab 4x4 manual trans truck.

    Mar 21, 2009 by: fireballsocal
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I couldn't ask for a better pickup truck to be used for hauling dirtbikes on the weekends yet still get me around the city in every day driving. This truck is a regular cab with 4 cylinder engine and manual transmission. It is pretty basic with the few options I ordered being 4 wheel drive, an SR5 trim package, and aluminum rims. The truck looks good with glossy paint and high quality interior materials. The interior is very comfortable and I can drive for hours with no troubles. Being 5'8" probobly helps. Controls are easy to use and reach. The radio sounds good and plays loud enough to hear with the window down. The air conditioning is cold enough to cool the cab on low in everything bit the hottest of California days and the next fan setting takes care of those. The heater works as it should and the defrost setting works well. The engine has plenty of power to move the truck at any legal speed, even with a couple of dirtbikes in the back though you will have to downshift on the hills. It's also reasonably quiet and smooth. The transmission shifts easily into gear and the clutch is easily pushed in. Gas milage has been 18.5 in the city, 21.5 on the highway. The plastic bed and cargo tie down system work as they should and the tie downs are especially convenient. The truck rides smoothly on road and with its short wheel base, does well offroad. A more agressive tore and the electric differential locker from the TRD package would benfit the truck greatly offroad. My only gripe is the lack of options available on the base model. I would have liked power windows, mirrors and cruise control but they aren't available. I also see no point in installing a back up camera (on the tail gate next to the door handle) when you can't order the monitor to see it. In closing, aside from the few items listed, I really like this toyota tacoma. It does what I want very well and has no glaring faults.

    2nd Tacoma

    Feb 08, 2009 by: BuorV
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I just bought a 2009 Tacoma Double Cab 4x4 TRD Sport Pkg. I like everything about it besides the braking system and fuel mileage. The brake is spongy and I only been getting around 16 miles/per gallon. Besides that, I love the truck but I haven't towed anything yet.

    My Third Tacoma

    Feb 08, 2009 by: JBuss61322
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Just purchased a 2009 Toyota Tacoma SR-5, 4-cylinder Access Cab and I love this truck. It rides like my wife's 2005 Highlander Limited, but gets a little better gas mileage. I had a 2004 Tacoma "Prerunner" 4-door crew cab which was a great truck, but the higher stance was a little hard to eneter/exit particularly for the wife. The only negative aspect of the 4-cyl SR-5 is that it doesn't come with factory fog lights, just two "cereal bowl" plugs where the fogs should be! A set of aftermarket fog lights corrected that error. As for the 4-cynlinder vs the V-6; I have a 1998 Tacoma with over 300,000 miles and it still runs like a top. You can't beat Toyota quality engineering.

    Terrible Brakes

    Nov 18, 2008 by: tztw0s9zusr
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    We have owned several Toyotas over the years, two bought brand new. We recently bought 2009 Tacoma and are very disappointed with the weak (scary soft with way too much travel)brakes. It is so bad it is ruining our experience with the vehicle. We are finding more referal to the problem all the time,Check Edmunds.com Toyota says it is within specs and that is the way it is. Drive it a while before you commit, ml

    My 2nd Tacoma!

    Nov 16, 2008 by: LuvCedarPoint
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I owned a '96 Tacoma 4x4 since '99 that had 125k miles on it. I had NO plans on getting rid of it until Toyota recalled it due to a bad frame. They gave me 11k, and I had no hesitation what so ever that another Tacoma is what I wanted. I test drove 2 of the 4x4 access cabs and liked the V4 as well as the V6 but since the V4 could still handle hauling my horse and trailer, and was around 5k cheaper, it was fine by me. The controls are all within reach, the interior is beautiful. The heat and a/c work great. It is a very comfy and tight ride, even when hauling. It isnt as strong a hauler as my '96 (V6) was but doesnt hesitate enough to be a problem, my truck a stick to help with that. The mileage is right around 22 hgwy/21 city/15-17 hauling full load. The truck is handsome as all get out. The reverse camera is way cool, especially when hitching my trailer. The ride is very very comfy and very un-4x4 trucklike. The only downsides, it came with Dunlap tires, not beefy enough for me so I bought BFGs All Terrian T/As. I can not stand the headrests. They tilt forward (to assist in a crash) and they are just plain uncomfy to me, no matter how I adjust my seat. The stereo isnt loud enough for me, the gas cap doesnt lock. It has a 20 gallon gas tank so the 1st time I filled it up (at $3.50/gallon) I almost had a stroke! My hubby doesnt like no "oh s***" bars to hold on to when Im driving (it has side curtain air bags) Petty and picky things. I adore the truck and plan on keeping it forever...The dependability of my old Tacoma was enough for me. I stand by Toyota products and especially their Tacomas.

    *The data and content on this web site is subject to change without notice. Neither AOL nor any of its data or content providers shall be liable for errors in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.

    Powered by

    More on the Tacoma

    Whether you're a buyer or owner of the 2009 Toyota Tacoma we've got you covered.

    FIND A GREAT USED CAR

    GO
    Powered by
    Get a free CARFAX record check for a used car

    Great Auto Loan Rates

    Low Rates on New and Used Autos

    Powered By Apply In One Easy Step »
    Read customer reviews from Toyota owners to see how they rate the 2009 Tacoma; or share your opinion of the Toyota Tacoma.
    Best Deal:
    Our Price:
    Savings:
    MSRP:
    Go Back to Best Deals »