2005 Toyota Prius

    (9 Reviews)




    MSRP
    $21,275
    Advertisement

    2005 Toyota Prius Owner Reviews

    Average Rating

    9 Owner Reviews

    Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Review of 2005 Toyota Prius

    Apr 15, 2009 by: johnjfheil99
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    This car is terrific. Instead of filling my tank every week as before, I now get gas every three to four weeks. I get between 36 and 38 miles per gallon around town and between 46 and 48 miles per gallon on the road. It is the best car I have ever owned.

    Best Car I've Ever Owned

    Feb 05, 2009 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    It wasn't love at first sight. I had been driving VWs for years. I was hesitant at first. The Prius 'felt' so different. But I was about to start driving a LOT. So, I wanted a car that would get very good mileage and have less environmental impact. (NOTE: I've since heard these cars have a wide manufacturing footprint. Although I haven't confirmed this to be true.) For 2 years, I commuted 220 miles a week between DC and southeastern Virginia and commuted 40+ miles per day in DC area during the week. I've beaten the crud out of this car. At the risk of jinxing it, the car (knock wood) has been incredible. Tons of mileage. Two accidents. No engine problems. Car's still in great shape. Oil changed every 5,000 miles. I haven't gotten all of the 'recommended' maintenance. Yet, the car runs smoothly. Only minor complaints I have are the driver's seat could use better lumbar support and the slope of the back doors are steep, which makes it a wee-bit difficult to put my infant son into his car seat. Performance and reliability are excellent. I have had virtually no problems with the car. For me, the highway gas mileage is better than in the city, which is opposite of what they advertise. Also, the mileage is noticeably better when the windows are closed. Prius isn't a sports sedan, which took some getting used to. ******* pick-up is fine and has remained so. I recently crossed the 97,000 mile mark and it's starting to feel a little sluggish. So, I will probably have the fuel injectors cleaned. Interior is big. High ceilings help. I packed an entire apartment's worth of collapsible furniture and clothes into it - four times. I was amazed. So were my roommates! Interior is nearly sound-proof. So, I also do some voice recording in the car on my lunch hour. It wasn't love at first sight. But now I can't imagine having another car, until something better comes along of course. Until then, I'm likely to drive this Prius into the ground or get a new one.

    Hybrid Owner since 2005

    Nov 02, 2008 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    We have loved our Prius Hybrid since 2005! No, it doesn't have the automatic seats although we have package 6, with the navigation/bluetooth, etc. ******** nice to drive up to the station and fill your car for $20!! or less. I have gotten 50.6 mpg recently, althought most of the time in the city it runs around 44 mpg. I really appreciate this hybrid and want to replace it with another one soon.

    Saved My Life

    Jul 10, 2008 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I was involved in a head on crash with a trafic control sign - one of those that displays a message in lights. The sign weighs over 500 pounds, and I hit it head on at a little over 70 miles an hour. The air bags deployed. The front and rear windows were destroyed and the front of the car was crushed. The car was totaled. Though I did sustain a fractured sternum and several fractured ribs, I was able to walk away. The entire interior of the car was in tack. Except for the broken glass from the rear window and some of my belongings having flown around, the interior sustained no damage at all. ETM and firemen on the scene wanted more information about the car. They couldn't believe I survived - and two of them said that they were going to buy a Prius because of what they saw. My 2005 Prius saved me life! Now I have a 2007 Prius and hope never to put it to the test again!

    PRIUS is my finest car

    Jul 05, 2008 by: PSUTIGER
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I've been driving for 33 years now. Through numerous vehicles that I also enjoyed, none of them can match my 2005 Prius.I've had it for 3 years now with 75000 miles and its still drives like its brand new. Its roomy, accelerates very well (especially at higher sppeds!), ZERO maintenance issues, and quiet.To top it off, I've generally averaged 50 MPG in the 3 years I've owned it. When comparing to most cars that get 30 MPG, it means I've saved in not purchasing 1000 gallons; you do the math!By 2015, 1/2 of all cars on the highway will be hybrids. If not, then Americans are just plain stupid.

    Prius has met expectations

    Jun 29, 2008 by: Akbetts
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    After 3 years and 50000 miles, the Prius has not disappointed. It gets 48 mpg in winter and 51 mpg in summer on rural Vermont roads. We have had no problems. Service has only been oil changes every 5K miles. It has handled the Vermont winters (it is garaged). It am so glad we bought it: it saves us over $1000/year on gas.

    Good gas milage, sure, but <20% of the serious environmental pollutants!

    Oct 17, 2007 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    <p>We get 41 mpg with 2002 Prius and 46 mpg with 2005 model, according to the computer. Fill up with gas half as often as our friends. But the real feel good is the tiny fraction of pollutants spewed out since the car is silent (i.e., when stopped, no idling) when not running, and the electric engine makes a starter (a big pollutant, the thing that makes the car go chuga-chuga-chuga when you are starting the car) unnecessary in a Prius. No mechanical or electrical problems so far and great warranty anyway.</p>

    Great Car - Fun to Drive & learning to drive safe, smart and efficiently.

    Sep 19, 2007 by: glasby607
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    <p>I have a 2005 Prius Level 6 and being a sales rep. this car acts as my office, as it has the Bluetooth and phone library so I can make handfree calls while I am driving. The fold down seats are great when I have to haul catalogs and samples. It is very roomy inside and most clients are just surprised how comfortable it is.</p> <p>One has to relearn how to drive and use the bar graphs - using the kinetic energy of the car to coast...especialy coming up on red lights and going downhill.</p> <p>My stats are ..67 mph.= 49 mpg. 58 mpg. = 52 mpg. 45 mph = 58 mpg. consistently.</p> <p>Another good reason my 2001 BMW 740IL stays home.</p> <p>Questions:</p> <p>Is there an aftermarket or Toyota Rear TV Camera upgrade available for this 2005 car?</p> <p>What after market seat, console, and arm covers are available?</p> <p>Like to hear from you.</p> <p>S. Glasby</p> <p>Any one know.</p>

    Review of 2005 Toyota Prius

    Aug 10, 2007 by: ronsdca
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    *The data and content on this web site is subject to change without notice. Neither AOL nor any of its data or content providers shall be liable for errors in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.

    Powered by

    More on the Prius

    Whether you're a buyer or owner of the 2005 Toyota Prius we've got you covered.

    FIND A GREAT USED CAR

    GO
    Powered by
    Get a free CARFAX record check for a used car

    Great Auto Loan Rates

    Low Rates on New and Used Autos

    Powered By Apply In One Easy Step »
    Read customer reviews from Toyota owners to see how they rate the 2005 Prius; or share your opinion of the Toyota Prius.
    Best Deal:
    Our Price:
    Savings:
    MSRP:
    Go Back to Best Deals »