2014 Toyota Highlander

    (47 Reviews)




    MSRP
    $29,215 - $43,590
    Advertisement

    '01-'14 Toyota Highlander Owner Reviews

    Average Rating

    47 Owner Reviews

    Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Our second Highlander

    Jun 07, 2014 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    This is our second Highlander. Our first was a 2009 limited and this one is the platinum. Toyota has made major improvements to this vehicle from performance to styling. we have only had the vehicle a few weeks and have not learned how to use all the features just yet. Now as with most toyota products, if you want all the bells and whistles, you have to by the top end product. The cooled seats are my favorite so far.

    most comfortable car

    Jan 19, 2014 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I The 2004 highlander is the best car that I have owned. it has 100254 miles and never had a problem. Gas milage on a trip was excellent. I would buy a highlander again. In fact i am going to buy a new one this year.

    2010 Highlander LTD 4WD Gas version

    Mar 23, 2011 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I waited a year and 12,000 mi to write this review. My vehicle was Japanese made so no pedal recall issues. This crossover vehicle is great--sits high, car like ride, 4WD got me out of some of the worst snowstorms in recent memory. I looked at a Honda Pilot at first, but Highlander's accelleration and braking were much better. The 3rd row seat is really useable only for storage, but I simply roll it down for cargo space and dog carriage. The 2nd row seats are spacious for two adults, and the car comes with a handy seat "filler"to make the bucket seats into a bench seat for up to three kids. I changed the oil twice so far, and the vehicle has no issues. Fit and finish were fine, no big gaps or misfit parts like I used to see on my Chrysler cars. The Highlander also pulls my utility trailer with a riding lawn mower--it comes set up for trailers and can tow up to 5000 pounds, pretty good. The navi system has its own book and has a lot of functions, but I had no problem with setting it and finding destinations on a family trip from Wisconsin to Florida. In fact, I liked this Navi better than the portable Garmin I had before or the Suburu that my wife has. I'm no computer expert, but I read the instructions and it works just fine. Screen also worked great for no hands connection of cellphone (mandatory in certain areas of my state) and for listneing to XM radio and CDs. Gas mileage for trip averaged in low to mid 20s. Overall, great family car that has some zip.

    Review of 2008 Toyota Highlander

    Jan 08, 2011 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    overall on the Higlander

    Dec 19, 2010 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Purchased a full loaded 2011 Limited model with 4 WD. It is an excellent vehiclee and exceeded my expectations. I traded in a 2009 Lexus GX because of the high cost of maintaining and vey low gas mileage. Highlander rides better, easy to drive 25% better fuel economy on regular gas. I am a big person and am very comforable. Has all the bells and whistles of a luxury vehicle. Even tried the small Lexus SUV, which is similar in price, but chose the Highlander.

    Review of 2010 Toyota Highlander

    Oct 01, 2010 by: mnpmcdee
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Toyota Navigation System a FAILURE

    May 14, 2010 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I have a 2010 Highlander LTD with just about everything on it. It has under 4,000 miles. Nice vehicle. However, the Toyota Navigation System is a total failure. I have tested the system repeatedly for accuracy. It is so innacurate it is not useable. I even had two dealer reps set the destinations to test the system to be certain I was not entering information improperly. Despite the fact that the Toyota system and its instruction book are extremly and unecessarily complex, I was able to enter destinations correctly after much reading and instruction. (And, I am not a novice as I have had other navigation systems which I was able to learn to use in an hour or two.) When compared to other systems, Toyota Nav fails miserably. I have found it to be about 50% to 60% accurate. That is, if you set 5 or 6 destinations, confirmed by dealer reps to have been entered properly, the Toyota system will guide you to your destination correctly only about 3 out of 6 times. It will repeatedly take you on routes that are incorrect. It will fail to recognize when you have arrived at your destination and tell you to get back on a highway when you are stopped in front of your destination. Worse yet, on the way to a destination, it will repeatedly tell you to exit a highway as much as 10 miles before you should do so. Simply put, the Toyota Navigation System does not work and should not be sold. It should be pulled off the market. One further comment is appropriate. Toyota has made the system so complex, when compared to other systems, it is difficult to learn, very time consuming and difficult to use. Unless Toyota completely revamps its next generation system due in October, it should not offer a Navigation System and cetainly should not charge for one. Suggestion to Toyota - study another system like a Volvo system and write a program that is user friendly and capable of more accurate performance. Reasonable accuracy is not too much to expect. High inaccuracy can be dangerous.

    highlander, ltd,hybrid loaded

    Apr 21, 2010 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I purchased this vehicle because of the Toyota reputation and because of the 27/25 city/hgwy mpg ratings. The car has beeen enjoyable and fun to drive and the options have been very helpful during our city and hgwy trips. We have been very disappointed in the MPG actual vs the ratings. I am a very conservative driver and do everything possible to maximize my fuel economy. Our experience had been most disappointing in the city. our experience has been between 20 to 21 in the city and 22 on the hgwy. Overall we get about 21 to 22 average mpg. Based on other consumer ratings and Towota's MPG rating I was cnfident that my average would be 25 minimum because most of my driving is in the city stop and go driving with periods of short highway trips. The greater the stop & go driving the lower the mpg. So when the dealer is asked about the issue their response is that the ratings are ideal and will seldom be duplicated in normal use. In fact actuals will mostly be lower than than published sticker. Whoa talk about deceptive practice. ajay

    Review of 2010 Toyota Highlander

    Apr 15, 2010 by: ox00000000049690
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Review of 2009 Toyota Highlander

    Oct 28, 2009 by: sclair3263
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    After just 3 months and 10k of owning my Highlander, I can already tell this is the best vehicle I've ever owned. Having been a loyal Dodge and Ford owner all my life, I regret not making this move sooner.

    1 2 3 4 5

    *The data and content on this web site is subject to change without notice. Neither AOL nor any of its data or content providers shall be liable for errors in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.

    Powered by

    FIND A GREAT USED CAR

    GO
    Powered by
    Get a free CARFAX record check for a used car

    Great Auto Loan Rates

    Low Rates on New and Used Autos

    Powered By Apply In One Easy Step »
    Read customer reviews from Toyota owners to see how they rate the 2014 Highlander; or share your opinion of the Toyota Highlander.
    Best Deal:
    Our Price:
    Savings:
    MSRP:
    Go Back to Best Deals »