2009 Toyota Corolla

    (31 Reviews)




    MSRP
    $16,750
    Advertisement

    2009 Toyota Corolla Owner Reviews

    Average Rating

    31 Owner Reviews

    Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Review of 2009 Toyota Corolla

    Jun 15, 2013 by: jfgentner678
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    After a storm, my 2008 Yaris was crushed by a tree. I wanted to find a replacement. I looked high and low and after about 3 weeks, I found this car. I have the base model- manual windows, manual locks, and manual transmission, Barcelona Red. I bought it with 80,744 miles on it. If you don't want to keep reading, I will sum up my review in 4 words. I. Love. This. Car. I can fit my wife and child comfortably. I can zip around town easily. I can get in and out easily, which is a big deal since I am 6'7" and about 350. In the 4 months I have owned it, I have driven it a little over 5000 miles. I find myself waiting until the family goes to bed and I will get out and driving it. My daughter loves riding in it. I realize that my joy for such a small car puts me in the minority, especially with the lack of options, and the stick shift. However, I bought this car for good, reliable transportation, and wanted to stick within my budget- both of which this car has certainly done. I thoroughly enjoy this car, and look forward to a driving this car for quite a while.

    Good Car

    Sep 25, 2009 by: awclay33
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I traded a 08 ford sport trac to save money great car I deliver pizza's so good gas mileage is import good ride on handing car is sluggish but it get by. Steering on the freeway sucks hard to drive straight constanly readjusting really annoying. over all 30+ mpgs looks, and toyota realiabilty hope its stays a great car!

    Toyota Corolla with electronic power steering.

    Sep 12, 2009 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    The 2009 Toyota Corolla has a problem with the electronic power steering. At highway speeds the car will not go straight. It wanders to the right and the left. You must keep adjusting the steering wheel to keep the car going straight. This is annoying and dangerous. I have complained to the Toyota dealer a number of times. I sent email and talked to Toyota Headquarters a number of times. They both said there is nothing they can do about correcting it. That is the way it is made. They know they have a steering problem with the 2009 and 2010 Toyota Corolla with electronic power steering. They will not admit it, and as long as they don't admit it, they don't have to fix it. I think it is criminal to knowingly produce a car that they know has a problem. Then, hide behind the excuse that it is supposed to be that way...

    09 XRS

    Jun 13, 2009 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Love, love LOVE this car! It is a blast to drive! To get on to Long Island highways, you better be able to move and this car does so with ease and speed. It's hard not to go fast, this car WANTS to go. Even careful drivers have been surprised when they have driven my car and discover they are going 80 and have to slow down. Mechanically great, overall smooth ride, got the upgraded stereo (awesome!), solid braking and the gas mileage is as stated. Very very happy. One upgrade they should have made was to put a windshield wiper on back window as rain, ice and snow make it difficult to see and defroster is adequate but not great. Other than that, I am very happy and have had my car since July 08. Don't bother with the other models, for the extra $$$$ it has been worth every cent. I see having this car for a very long time and enjoying it!

    defective 2009 Corolla

    May 18, 2009 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Car purchased end of December 2008, quoted price was misleading, by the time We went to sign the paper for a CASH purchase! Was told we would receive money back HA! The trunk of the car will NOT stay up...We took it back at 25 miles to dealership,they stated nothing would be done. Trunk has fallen twice on my spouse's head. I will NOT even get in the car, to the present date. I have called Corporate In Torrance Ca and was told we know there is a problem, but we will NOT do anything about it and we don't care, and we know you will NOT like this answer... The saga goes on. It is now May 18,2009 and NO answers or resolution. We either hold the trunk up or my spouse sticks a board in the trunk to hold it up! Nice after spending 16K. You would think safety and customer service would be of primary concern for the CO especially since they know there is a problem. But who cares NOT the President of the Co, he does not talk to the consumer!! I'd like my money back, and buy a KIA, great car NO problems. I've had mine since 2005 no trouble at all. Spouse Commutes 6 miles to work in the Corolla , not a lot of wear/tear here! Contacts do not return phone calls,and Corporate is arrogant. I do want a resolution, I am ready for the Lemon Law! Thank you.

    I would add another star, 5 stars

    Apr 23, 2009 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I have a 2009 Toyata Corolla & it's a GREAT CAR! No problems & has a very good engine & a nice ride. If i was going to buy a sports car then I'll buy a Mini Copper S but for a sedan the Toyota Corolla so take your pick on those two cars.

    MINI CAMRY

    Apr 08, 2009 by: marvingerr
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    WE HAVE OWNED THIS CAR SINCE MAY 2008. IT WAS PURCHASED TO REPLACE A 1999 NISSAN PATHFINDER WHICH WE NEEDED TO DOWNSIZE FROM AND GET A BETTER GAS MILEAGE VEHICLE. WE ORIGINALLY LOOKED THE CAMRY, BUT AS SOON AS WE SAW AND DROVE THE 2009 COROLLA, IN ITS INCREASED SIZE AND COMFORT THE CAMRY BECAME IRRELEVANT. IN FACT, IF YOU WANT A LESS EXPENSIVE CAMRY, CONSIDER THE NEW ENLARGED COROLLA. IN FACT, OUR FIRST REACTION TO THE ENLARGED COROLLA WAS THAT TOYOTA IS GOING TO HAVE A PROBLEM SELLING CAMRYS. AFTER A YEAR WITH THIS CAR WE HAVE NO COMPLAINTS WHATSOEVER, IF YOU WANT A PRACTICAL NO NON-SENSE RELIABLE VEHICLE THIS IS IT. ON THE OTHER HAND IF YOU THE EXCITEMENT OF AN UNRELIABLE CAR PLEASE CONSIDER ANOTHER VEHICLE.

    Initial experience with 2009 Corolla

    Mar 18, 2009 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I traded in a 1997 Mercury Grand Marquis, and otherwise drove a 2004 Buick LeSabre, so I expected the Corolla to be difficult to handle. I had also read horror stories about the steering feel. My experience so far is that the car tracks wonderfully on city streets and on the highway -- almost steers itself. The car is quiet and comfortable riding. I am very pleased.

    New EPS Power Steering has reported problems (nhtsa.gov)

    Mar 14, 2009 by: defectivecorolla
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I had a dangerous problem with my steering for my 2009 Corolla. But without any support from Toyota I had to pay on my own to get this fix. Toyota Corp said the dealer said it was within tolerance. So to make a story short I paid (on my own) $1200 and got the problem resolved. If there is EVER a recall or lawsuits I have all my notes and measurements to get to anyone that might need them. Oh.. look on the NHTSA dot GOV they are over 30 posted issue just on steering.

    Dangerous Car

    Mar 02, 2009 by: Hpopish
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Any little wind blows car around-I have been driving for over 50 years and drove over 50,000 miles per year as a salesmen-This is the worst driving car I ever had. After i week I brought car back to dealer and they claim it was fine.

    1 2 3 4

    *The data and content on this web site is subject to change without notice. Neither AOL nor any of its data or content providers shall be liable for errors in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.

    Powered by

    More on the Corolla

    Whether you're a buyer or owner of the 2009 Toyota Corolla we've got you covered.

    FIND A GREAT USED CAR

    GO
    Powered by
    Get a free CARFAX record check for a used car

    Great Auto Loan Rates

    Low Rates on New and Used Autos

    Powered By Apply In One Easy Step »
    Read customer reviews from Toyota owners to see how they rate the 2009 Corolla; or share your opinion of the Toyota Corolla.
    Best Deal:
    Our Price:
    Savings:
    MSRP:
    Go Back to Best Deals »