2009 Subaru Forester

    (19 Reviews)




    MSRP
    $19,995 - $28,195
    Advertisement

    2009 Subaru Forester Owner Reviews

    Average Rating

    19 Owner Reviews

    Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    2009 2.5X

    Oct 01, 2009 by: rphatton
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I leased this vehicle in March 2009 and now, 6 months later, have 6000 miles on it. Averaging 23 mpg overall which is a little less than I was expecting but not bad for AWD. I like the roominess as it can carry a lot of cargo, especially with the rear seats folded down. It handles well but the cheap Bridgestone tires ************ ride quality potential. If I were to buy or lease one again it must have Michelin shoes. I agree the passenger seat needs to be adjustable to raise it so my wife doesn't have to use cushions to see over the dash. A five speed or CVT transmission would be nice. I understand a CVT is now available on some newer models. The headroom is awesome, no need to remove your hat getting in and out. One problem I noticed was the placement of the gas and brake pedals. I have a size 12 shoe and was having a hard time getting on the brake as my shoe was getting down between the 2 pedals and it was panicsville getting it loose and finding the brake. I finally installed a pedal extender on the brake to help alleviate this. The exterior paint is beautiful, something I sorely missed on several of my GM products. I do have a bothersome rattle somewhere in the center console so it looks like that will need attention as it is very distracting. Overall this is a fine all-purpose vehicle, high ground clearance if you want to take it off-road and plenty of glass all around for those who hate all those blind spots on many other models. The sound system suffers from a lack of a decent antenna and hard to understand controls. It is bothersome as the stations keep fading out. CDs work fine but there is only a single unit available in the base model. I give it a 4 star out of 5 rating which is better than any GM, Ford, or Chrysler product I've owned. I also drive a 2008 Camry hybrid which averages 37+ mpg over 14,000 miles. Quite a bit more money but you could do worse. Overall, a well designed cross-over which will give you an enjoyable driving experience.

    Review of 2009 Subaru Forester

    Aug 16, 2009 by: roberto4sunps
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I've had my 2009 for an entire year, with almost 16K miles on ********* a base model; I'd decided that I no longer have a lot of use for either a convertible or a moonroof, neither being particularly useful when it's 100 degrees plus for so many months of the year. POSITIVES: Great interior cargo space, comfortable seats, good instrumentation except that some of the controls for the audio system are not particularly self explanatory. I like that I can adjust the drivers seat height, although having back problems, I miss the power seats that I'd had on my Jetta wagon before this. This car does have excellent handling, the turning radius is quite impressive. The ride is smooth and road noise is minimal. Of the 5 small SUVs that I'd tested, this and the Saturn Vue were my top choices. The car that had the worst turning radius was the Honda CRV. Overall gas mileage seems to be around 23 mpg, not great, but quite respectable for an AWD car. NEGATIVES: I find the standard 4 cyl. engine to be pretty gutless. Because it's necessary to have the A/C on whenever driving here in the summertime, I've found that the A/C seems to really impact the acceleration. I turn the A/C off when entering a freeway. The car seems kind of "tinny", and it does seem to register dings and dents easily. I guess I'm used to the paint and body integrity of the Volkswagen that I'd had before this. The paint seems rather cheap, scratching very easily. I'd had the car parked under a mesquite tree at work. I guess it had been windy and some of the branches had rubbed against the car. It looked as if someone had literally used sand paper on the hood.

    Nice small SUV

    Jun 14, 2009 by: kcbwpsfl
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I'm in my third month of my '09 Forester. So far, I like it very much! I has enough pep (I have the standrad engine--I didn't want to have a turbo that requires high test fuel.). I use the vehicle to tow my small fishing boat and trailer (1,100 pounds), and so far, it does quite well. I had to purchase a tow bar with a 5 inch lift, so my boat trailer would match up well. I haven't given it a test towing through the mountains...that's coming up soon. Even if I need to move to manual shift mode in the hilly areas, I'm already confident of the vehicle's performance. It eats gas while towing, however...just like every other vehicle. The seats are comfy (but the passenger's seat is too low..should be redesigned for 2010). I get pretty good milage...about 20 in the city and about 27 on the highway...more, if it is only highway. I"m very happy after about 1,900 miles of driving.

    We love it except.....

    May 09, 2009 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    The mud flaps are not large enough to prevent rock chipping on the rear wheel well. Even though we purchased the optional rock guard, it doesn't work and the chips keep coming. Also, there is no option for the dust deflector over the back window (which we really need) and there is no option for the side window air deflectors. Those are the only problems. We love the huge moon roof and everything else about it.

    Review of 2009 Subaru Forester

    May 03, 2009 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Some Needed Upgrades

    Apr 18, 2009 by: trampus314
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    A very nice, small SUV! But the passenger's seat is too low and there are too many keys! ONE key should suffice for everything. Also, there needs to be a stainless guard around the door handle as the paint there quickly becomes scratched. These small improvements will add much to the value of this great SUV.

    Mileaage not as predicted

    Apr 01, 2009 by: gardenbreezes
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I have a 2009 Forester with a little over 5000 miles on it. I do mostly in town driving. I'm getting between 15 and 17 mpg with this type of driving, sometimes as low as 11 mpg! On the highway, the best I've ever done is 24 mpg. I'm really REALLY disappointed as this is what drew me to the Forester in the first place. I also really need the driver's seat to go back further but there is no way to adjust that. I even looked into having it handicapped modified but couldn't because of the way the seat is installed. But, I like the looks, it feels nice, I don't have to lift myself out of it like from a car, and I do get lots of compliments. Would I get it again? I seriously doubt it. I miss my Olds Intrigue!

    Passenger seat height

    Mar 02, 2009 by: flykaster2
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I've decided the 2009 Forester will be my next vehicle purchase. The only reason I don't already own one is the lack of height adjustment for the front passenger seat which is to low for my wife. Does any one know if Subaru has a fix for this? Will 2010 models have address this?

    Best car I've ever owned...

    Jan 08, 2009 by: TARYNTULA
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    This is my favorite car I've owned by far. That AWD really helps you grip the road and make the 4 cylinders feel more zippy. Stops on a dime. Love the revamped exterior styling for the 09 model...more like an actual SUV and less like an enlarged Outback (and it doesn't look like a shortened minivan like the new Honda CRV and Toyota Rav4). Tons of room, even for my extremely tall husband. Back seats have more room than most compact SUVs I've been in. Extra storage for wet boots or wet suits, etc., for the active lifestyle. I'm getting leather interior and crossbars added this weekend. I previously owned an Explorer and a Scion XA, so I've driven both ends of the spectrum. I wouldn't trade my Forester for anything! Great job Subaru!

    Amazing

    Nov 09, 2008 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    AWD, 5 star safety, VDC (vehicle dynamics control), Motor Trend car of the year, and Consumer Reports cover!! Great in the snow, rain, and even on dry pavement. That lower center of gravity boxer engine, allows you to fly through every turn. What else could you ask for? Its a no brainer!!

    *The data and content on this web site is subject to change without notice. Neither AOL nor any of its data or content providers shall be liable for errors in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.

    Powered by

    FIND A GREAT USED CAR

    GO
    Powered by
    Get a free CARFAX record check for a used car

    Great Auto Loan Rates

    Low Rates on New and Used Autos

    Powered By Apply In One Easy Step »
    Read customer reviews from Subaru owners to see how they rate the 2009 Forester; or share your opinion of the Subaru Forester.
    Best Deal:
    Our Price:
    Savings:
    MSRP:
    Go Back to Best Deals »