2008 Saab 9-3

    (13 Reviews)




    MSRP
    $28,445
    Advertisement

    2008 Saab 9-3 Owner Reviews

    Average Rating

    13 Owner Reviews

    Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Impressive performance at a great value

    Jun 25, 2009 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I purchased a new 2008 Saab 9-3 Aero XWD in April of this year (2009), so it was on the lot for a while and the incentives were absolutely amazing. MSRP was just shy of $42K and with the $8,500 cash back from GM and dealer cash back, I paid $28,300 pre-tax and tags. The XWD version of the 9-3 is pretty darn sweet, with about 280 HP in the 6 cylinder engine. Similar to the Turbo X but not quite as juiced. I have been very happy so far. The power is more than adequate and the ride is firm but soft enough to not be jarring on Maryland, Virginia and DC roads. The XWD has 225/50s vs the 235/45s that the traditional Aeros have, so that helps a lot to soften the ride. The XWD also sits a little higher, which makes the stance of the car look a little goofy, but that's a minor problem considering the safer technology benefit. I wish there was a little less roll in off-ramp situations, but once again, a minor problem. Overall, I highly recommend this car, especially if you can get such a sweet deal. Nothing in the market really compared at the price point I got it at. The A4, 3-series BMW, and G37 were all significantly more and frankly I liked the ride of the Saab better anyway. Win win.

    What it isn't

    Jun 24, 2009 by: elcapitan0012001
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Saabs are always compared to Audi, BMW, Acura, etc. These comparisions are easily drawn based on price, performance, vehicle size and features available. If you want a car like an Audi, or BMW, or Acura, go out and buy an Audi, BMW, or whatever. A Saab is a Saab, in a catagory by itself. If you are comfortable with bucking the mainstream then you may be the right kind of owner for a Saab. First Saabs NEVER NEVER sell for retail price, for the last few years and the foreseeable future they will sell much below retail, so retail price range comparisons are ridiculous. Focus on the selling prices if price is your main decision criteria. When have you ever heard of a BMW or Audi selling for it's advertised BASE price of 40K? A BMW sales consultant would be fired on the spot if he let you walk out with a base priced 3 series. So comments like "It doesn't feel like a 45K car" are very misleading and not representative of actual selling prices. Performance, everybody is very comfortable with 0 to 60 times, but is it a really a good indicator of real world performance? How often are you racing to 60MPH from a dead stop on your morning commute? What's important is on the roll acceleration, 40 to 70MPH for example. My old MY03 9-5 Aero had a faster stock 40 to 70 speed than some of the more widely produced Ferrari models. Compare any Saab to a popular class competitor from 5 to 60MPH I guarantee you'll be very surprised. The best advice I can give anyone interested in a Saab is to go out and drive one, you will know in a matter of minutes if you are a Saab person or not. The 9-3 is an excellent vehicle in any trim level and the 2.0 and 2.8 engines are the best they have ever made, powerful, smooth, and economical. The upcoming, MY10 9-5 might be worth waiting for which from all reports sounds like it may be an industry game changer. I hope this helps.

    always wanted it! now i got it!

    May 21, 2009 by: spinelessending
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    EVER SINCE LIKE 2001 I WANTED A SAAB9-3 WELL LAST JUNE I WANTED A NEW CAR, SO I WENT FOR THE CAR I ALWAYS WANTED!! WELL ITS A YEAR LATER AND I WANT TO TRADE.... I THINK FOR THE MONEY I SHOULD OF GOT SOMETHING ELSE....FOR 34K YOU GET NOTHING!! IM A 6FT GUY AN ITS JUST TO SMALL OF A CAR FOR ME. I SHOULD OF STUCK WITH THE ACURA TSX OR VOVO... DON'T GET ME WRONG ITS A GREAT CAR NO PROBLEM I GET ALOT OF COMPLIMENTS HOWEVER NOBODY KNOWS WHAT IT IS! I GET IS THAT A NEW SCION? A NEW KIA? IN A YEAR THE CAR WENT FROM 34K TO 15K IF I TRADE I HAVE A 10K ROLLOVER! WHERE ACURA, BMW, AN VOLVO THE RESALE IS STILL HIGH...I LEARNED BECAREFUL FOR WHAT YOU WISH FOR, YOU MIGHT JUST GET IT!

    saab 9-3 Turbo X sportcombi

    May 18, 2009 by: carter3b
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    got a 46,000 dollar car for 27,000 grand with all the disounts. 280 horsepower, all wheel drive. Runs like stink, gets tons of looks and is very rare. wouldn't buy a beemer for that reason. only bad thing is i am only getting 22 mpg, but that is better than the 14 i got with my trailblazer SS.love the xenon headlights/foglights and the build quality is awsome.

    new saab owner

    Mar 10, 2009 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Great care. Fun to drive. Excellent pickup and very sporty.

    For the money its a great car

    Mar 06, 2009 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Between the rebates, loyalty cash and GM card Dollars, you can't get a better car for the money. The 4 cyl Turbo has plenty of pep, runs smooth, and delivers 26 mpg in a combination of city/highway driving. Very satisfied.

    Happy Camper

    Jan 08, 2009 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I live about 5 hours North of Silicon Valley (where I work) and although most of my work happens in my home office, I need to make the trip South a couple of time per month. I also have four dogs who like to go to the beach once or twice a week. I traded an 07 Honda CR-V for this Saab. The Honda was great except that it was really loud on the long highway trips. My new SportCombi is quiet, comfortable, fast and gets 30 mpg cruising at 70+ . It has the Bose Centerpoint sound system, 17" wheels, sunroof and cold weather package...and I paid $27,250 which is about $8K below MSRP. The brakes are good and it handles as well and any street car in my memory, and the four dogs fit. I'm happy.

    Review of 2008 Saab 9-3

    May 09, 2008 by: Jiraya814
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    This is my second SAAB , had a 2005 prior to this purchase love it!!!

    Great feel, Spirrited, and good in all weather....better car for the Money

    Mar 21, 2008 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Also add in its saftey rating and you have a great deal here!!

    eZCAMvySMgGwwERZmZ

    Mar 18, 2008 by: Dev without SNS user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Nice site!

    *The data and content on this web site is subject to change without notice. Neither AOL nor any of its data or content providers shall be liable for errors in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.

    Powered by

    More from AOL Autos and Autoblog

    Whether you're a buyer or owner of the 2008 Saab 9-3 we've got you covered.

    FIND A GREAT USED CAR

    GO
    Powered by
    Get a free CARFAX record check for a used car

    Great Auto Loan Rates

    Low Rates on New and Used Autos

    Powered By Apply In One Easy Step »
    Read customer reviews from Saab owners to see how they rate the 2008 9-3; or share your opinion of the Saab 9-3.
    Best Deal:
    Our Price:
    Savings:
    MSRP:
    Go Back to Best Deals »