2009 Pontiac G8
    MSRP
    $28,250
    Get a Quote
    17 Owner Reviews
    Advertisement

    2009 Pontiac G8 Owner Reviews

    Average Rating

    17 Owner Reviews

    Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Review of 2009 Pontiac G8

    Aug 07, 2013 by:
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    One does not need to be 28 yoa to drive and enjoy this beautiful car. We senior citizens are definitely turning heads while driving this beast. Speed and performance are stellar attributes to this fine car. Very sorry Pontiac opted out. GTO's were great . These are superb vehicles and am very proud to own one.

    Your 2009 Pontiac G8 is working according to its design.

    Mar 26, 2010 by:
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Nice car but the mileage range gauge on my 2009 Pontiac G8 bought brand new, has always given false readings. The dealer couldn't fix it. He said several other owners of the same type car were having the same problem, GM engineers were working on the problem & hopefully would have a solution in a couple of months. This was over 7 months ago. GM representatives then began to claim that the mileage range gauge is 'working according to its design.' The readings jump up & down and I gain miles instead of using miles. For example, on a recent 12 miles trip the range changed 18 times, varying between 396-453. It was 404 at the start of the trip & ended up with the gauge showing 441! But according to GM 'it's working according to its design.' What is the purpose of the design to the driver when the readings are always inaccurate? It's very irritating to have such wildly inaccurate mileage range readings on such a neat looking car.

    This is a Four Door GTO

    Sep 22, 2009 by:
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    When GM brought back the GTO in 04 I wanted one really bad just could not talk the wife back into a 2 door car so bought a Gran Prix GT. Not a bad car but still lacking umph. So started having some problems with the Gran Prix and from the first time that I saw the G8 it was all that I needed drove one at a car show and knew that I would own one . Drove both the V6 and V8 cars and for the difference in price it was no question of which it would be V8 all the way. With the DOD you can be running around 60 mph and only running on 4 cylinders and cannot tell the difference until you step on the gas plenty of power great handling and with the heated seats with back problems they are great. The only thing that I have found that I do not like is the tilt wheel . Other than that it is a great car and GM will look back and say "We should have pushed that car more for sales". If I had the money there would be another in the garage today. Having owned GM products all of my driving life have never had but one that was a dissapointment and it was the 2005 Gran Prix. Currently have a 1999 GMC Sierra 2500 EXT cab and a 1995 Pontiac Trans Am . So if you are in the market for a great family vehicle that has Looks Power and Great Performance try to find you one of The remaining G8GTs or The G8 GXP I don't think you will regret it . Combined gas mileage city and highway has been around 26 mpg with less than 5000 miles on the clock. Other people have their opinions and to quote Henry Hudson" There is an A$$for every seat". GOODAY

    Review of 2009 Pontiac G8

    Aug 23, 2009 by:
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Great car, big mistake to stop building this.Please wake up GM

    Great vehicle from GM and as usual they ruin things

    Jul 19, 2009 by:
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I had an 04 GTO and I loved it. Very decent car for the price, now Pontiac delivers us a G8GT. This car is killer!!! Superior to the GTO in everyway GM/PONTIAC/HOLDEN whatever you want to call it got this one right. Yes there are a few quirks but hey what car doesnt. 365 hp stock on 87 octane, where else will you find that. Anyway i did a few things to the car to wake it up some and let me tell you did this thing wake up from hibernation. Changed the exhaust, added pedders street kit bushing to tighten her up some, add the swaybar kit, a great set of all season high performance tires and this car did an about face. Oh yes and a 93 octane high performance tune helped some too, lol. She is pushing close to 400 hp now and easily will light up tires from a punch. Its just a shame the GM has again destroyed something that they did right, again!!

    2009 Pontiac G8 V6

    May 02, 2009 by:
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Bought my new G8 just two weeks ago. OMG this car is great. Turned in a Saab 9-3 Aero leased, also great car, for the 3.6 G8. Car has power, handling, comfort, room, good mileage and gets looks. I don't even have the GT, but have been challenged by BMW drivers 3 times on the freeway. Not that I could win, but the car gets looks. GM finally got it right and now they are going to shut it down. Figures. That is what is wrong with US auto makers. Plus they had to build this one in Austrailia. So, did I buy American or? All the things wrong with this country.

    My 09 G8 GXP

    Apr 18, 2009 by:
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    By far the best GM car I have ever owned. I had 4 Chevy Monte Carlos before this (2 1996s, a 2001 and 2004) and this was the only car I was thinking about to replace my Supercharged SS with 98000 miles on it. I use my GXP as a daily driver, and over the first month and 1100 miles, have not seen anything that concerns me. My other cars loosened up over the first month, the fit and finish are still as tight as the day I picked it up. Its fast as hell, and has the pickup you expect from a pure-bred American V8, and there is still plenty of room to make it go faster. It corners awesome, and even with all the power and turning ability, its very forgiving. The dealer I worked with was able to work with me on my trade and the price and I was able to get this car at an awesome deal. The GXP is BMW beater, at half the price.

    Review of 2009 Pontiac G8

    Mar 31, 2009 by:
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Took delivery of a G8 GT in Dec. '08 for a '09. Car is excellent for daily commute, gas milage is getting better all the time. I especially like it because it is " a right foot car ", meaning it has power to get out of the traffic traps other motorist constantly put you in. Interior is decent also. Cup-holders could of had more thought put in as to their placement. Climate controls are very good. I just like the power and convenience. Overall an excelent choice for me. Like it a lot .

    This car is AWESOME!!!

    Mar 28, 2009 by:
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I took delivery of my G8 last week. This car is fantastic! GM may not have been dealing on this car last year but they are now! I got $9000 off the sticker, bringing my price down to $21,000 for the V6 model. It has plenty of power and with the upgraded interior and stereo, it is a great value. Fit & finish on this car is excellent and the ride is just what you expect from a performance car. Onstar is a great addition and very useful for the hands free calling and turn by turn navigation, all free for the first year. Great job GM & Pontiac!

    Wow ... G8 GT ... what a car!!

    Mar 09, 2009 by:
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Great handling and performance with rear wheel drive and V8 engine. The 6 spd automatic is amazingly smooth. Huge back seat room for the family. With all options loaded into this car and all rebates and incentives applied, pricing in mid 20's is simply unbeatable in value. Gas milage has been good with the variable displacement V8 that uses REGULAR gas. Turn by Turn navigation by On Star downloads to the car's computer so no extra GPS is needed. The huge upgraded 7" central LCD screen and Blaupunk stero with sub woofers are incredible. 6 way power seats in leather give great back and butt support ... the reason I actually sold my last car for! Head turning looks, 19" wheels and sunroof ********* off. I figure it will be a long time before I can get a new Camero SS (V8) at this price point. #1 On the I "******* had list" ... rain sensor wipers.. not available. #2 on the list, programable driver settings tied to the fob so it can change its set up for the wife and my differing preferences. #3 on the list if missing things, no instant fuel economy reading in the trip computer ... only average. #4, a second trip odometer. That's about it ... none were show stoppers once I drive it!

    *The data and content on this web site is subject to change without notice. Neither AOL nor any of its data or content providers shall be liable for errors in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.

    Powered by

    More on the G8

    Whether you're a buyer or owner of the 2009 Pontiac G8 we've got you covered.

    FIND A GREAT USED CAR

    GO
    Powered by
    Get a free CARFAX record check for a used car

    Great Auto Loan Rates

    Low Rates on New and Used Autos

    Powered By Apply In One Easy Step »
    Read customer reviews from Pontiac owners to see how they rate the 2009 G8; or share your opinion of the Pontiac G8.
    Best Deal:
    Our Price:
    Savings:
    MSRP:
    Go Back to Best Deals »