2008 Mercedes-Benz S-Class
    MSRP
    $89,700
    Get a Quote
    9 Owner Reviews
    Advertisement

    2008 Mercedes-Benz S-Class Owner Reviews

    Average Rating

    9 Owner Reviews

    Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Extremely disappointing and unreliable

    Mar 25, 2009 by:
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    This is supposed to be the best of the best but having to flatbed this car to the dealership every two or three months is outrageous. The number of defects and breakdowns is surprising for a manufacturer that claims to be the best engineered and assembled vehicle in the world. I have owned other Mercedes vehicles which ranged from pretty good to pretty awful. This is the worst. I will probably never buy another M-B automobile...this one makes me feel cheated and deceived.

    Benz Addict

    Jul 19, 2008 by:
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Presently, we own 3 Mercedes, a 2008 S550, a 2002 SL500 & a 2000 E320. This is my 5th S Class, having owned a 1976 280S, 1980 450SEL, a 2001 S430, a 2005 S430 and now the 2008 S550. This 2008 is clearly the best of any of the 20+ Mercedes that I have owned over the years. These S Class vehicles clearly are a cut above the other Mercedes models, including the super fun SL series. This 2008 S Class will handle most anything that I can dish out performance wise and is a pure pleasure to drive on my bi-monthly down state trips from Lake Tahoe to LA. Having been a professional race car driver for many years through the 70's & 80's driving in racing series with IMSA, CART & SCCA, I have a different understanding of what a car is all about as opposed to the average driver. My business partner opted for a 7 Series Bimmer as opposed to the flagship Benz. All of us in our firm's management agree that the S Class is a far superior automobile when compared to the best BMW can offer. I have also done a substantial amount of research regarding the structural integrity of the Mercedes products vs the BMW products in serious accidents. After comparing hundreds of photo frames of crashed BMW's & Mercedes, it would seem clear to me that the Mercedes does a far better job of keeping the passenger compartment intact. Having been a racer for so many years, this is an issue that still remains near and dear to me. In 1999, I was rear ended at interstate speeds while at a complete stop in my 1998 E 420 Mercedes. I ******* by a 1 1/2 ton flat bed work truck. The truck driver received major and life threatening injuries. I was hospitalized overnight and released with bumps and bruises. Despite the fact that my rear bumper was pushed even with the rear firewall, the entire passenger compartment remained fully intact. Needless to state, I'm sold on the Mercedes products.

    QUESTIONABLE FLAGSHIP

    Jun 29, 2008 by:
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    THIS IS A WELL ENGINEERED CAR. THE ONLY PROBLEMS THAT I HAVE HAD WITH THIS CAR IS THE LACK OF QUALITY. I HAVE UNEXPECTANTLY HAD FAR TOO MANY QUALITY ISSUES IN WHICH MY CAR HAD TO RETURN TO THE DEALERSHIP. MERCEDES HAS TO DO MORE IN TERMS OF ACHIEVING BETTER QUALITY. I HAVE SPOKEN TO OTHER DRIVERS OF THE S550, AND THEY HAVE HAD SIMILAR PROBLEMS. SOME OF THE PROBLEMS SHOULD HAVE PROBABLY RESULTED IN A RECALL, BUT INSTEAD, MERCEDES PROBABLY JUST MADE THE PROPER ADJUSTMENTS WHEN THE CUSTOMER RETURNED FOR ROUTINE SERVICE. I EXPECTED MORE FROM THE FLAGSHIP OF MERCEDES, BUT MERCEDES HAS LET ME DOWN.

    Review of 2008 Mercedes-Benz S-Class

    Jun 12, 2008 by:
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    The best sedan I've ever driven. Period.

    HOT FAST CAR

    Jan 11, 2008 by:
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    COOL FAST SHARP CAR MERCEDES DID IT AGAIN!IT IS FUN TO DRIVE AND HAS MANY FEATURES

    Review of 2008 Mercedes-Benz S-Class

    Dec 22, 2007 by:
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    2008 S 600

    Sep 18, 2007 by:
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    <p>I have only had this car for about 3 weeks and have put just under 1,000 miles on it so far and as the ads say it truly is a rock. It handles very well in clear as well as heavy rain and winds I encountered recently. It practically drives itself.</p> <p>It&#39;s very smooth, powerful with it&#39;s V-12 engin and quiet. The only real complaint I have is that the winshield wipers are not nearly as powerful as the wipers that were on the 2000 S-500 that I traded in(the wipers on that car were so powerful that when in full mode, you could feel the car shift from side to side) That feature was really missed in the recent downburst I drove through. Otherwise I highly recomend this car. If you can fit it your budget it is worth the $150K price tag.</p>

    What a car

    Sep 11, 2007 by:
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    <p>I love this car! Best of everything and it practically drives itself.</p>

    I love you

    Sep 05, 2007 by:
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    <p>I love you, I love you, I love you!</p>

    *The data and content on this web site is subject to change without notice. Neither AOL nor any of its data or content providers shall be liable for errors in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.

    Powered by

    FIND A GREAT USED CAR

    GO
    Powered by
    Get a free CARFAX record check for a used car

    Great Auto Loan Rates

    Low Rates on New and Used Autos

    Powered By Apply In One Easy Step »
    Read customer reviews from Mercedes-Benz owners to see how they rate the 2008 S-Class; or share your opinion of the Mercedes-Benz S-Class.
    Best Deal:
    Our Price:
    Savings:
    MSRP:
    Go Back to Best Deals »