2008 Mercedes-Benz GL-Class

    (11 Reviews)




    MSRP
    $53,400 - $77,375
    Advertisement

    2008 Mercedes-Benz GL-Class Owner Reviews

    Average Rating

    11 Owner Reviews

    Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Dissapointing

    Jan 27, 2010 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I leased this car (320 cdi) in the summer of 2008 and i thought it was a great car at first, it made you feel like you owned the road because it is so big and fairly spacious. I owned a Bmw x5, Volvo xc90, and i now drive a Lexus ls 460. Back to the Merc. It has nice interior but once we were about half a year or so in to our lease. This car began to have problems with the trunk and its power system. The trunk would simply not close right. We took it in to the dealer and after over a week they got it back to us, they had to order a new mechanism to fix the trunk. Then we began having battery malfunctions where the engine wouldn't start. We called the Mercedes roadside service and they gave us a boost. This happened on about four different occasions. And about 1 month ago we began having severe suspension problems where the hydraulics and shock absorbers began to stop working completely. It became so bad that I couldn't drink my coffee without spilling it all over me and the car. So we took it into the dealer. After a week they returned the car. We thought it was ok again. But just today as we were driving down the road, we hear a fairly loud explosion from underneath the car. We pull over and find nothing wrong so we keep going. Then after a few minutes we notice the car is driving un balanced and is unusually bumpy (similar to the feeling of the previous suspension malfunction). So we drive home and when i get home i notice that the car is tilted up, the wheels are in the wheelbase and the car is making weird noises. I am overall displeased with the car. The car is fully loaded, MRSP of almost $100K and we have such inconveniences.

    Review of 2008 Mercedes-Benz GL-Class

    Apr 24, 2009 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    We love our GL 450. I owned a CLS 500 for a couple of years and as my daughter grew, so did the number of friends. I was heartbroken to give up my sporty car, but after our dealer introduced me to the GL 450 SUV, I drove it and fell in love!! It is so smooth, and handles so well. I highly recommend this vehicle, we haven't had any problems, since purchasing it, 6 months ago. Thanks Mercedes, for making this great SUV !!!!!!

    Review of 2008 Mercedes-Benz GL-Class

    Mar 25, 2009 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    GL 320 Diesel

    Jan 18, 2009 by: WSRich
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I purchase the diesel model this past March 2008. So I've owned it for approximately 10 months. My other vehicle was a 1995 Toyota Landcruiser. With the exception of replacing the catalytic converter, it was an exceptional vehicle that I own for almost 13 years and 233k miles. The Toyota felt more solid but GL 320 feels smoother and the mileage is incredible. I now get 600 miles to a tank of diesel as opposed to 300 miles to a tank on the landcruiser. I'm diesel for life now. I've had the following problems with the Mercedes GL320 to date: 1. Oil pressure light too sensitive 2. Tire pressure light to sensitive 3. Truck veers to the right too much (alignment) The following are some of the goods things to date: 1. Very fun to drive with the GPS and satellite radio 2. Heated seats in the second row is great for the kids and great for the wife in the passenger seat 3. Third row seat fits an adult on long trips 4. Low profile which aids to great fuel mileage 5. IPOD integration kit

    A pleasure to drive

    Sep 07, 2008 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Researched and test drove the GL450, BMW X5 4.8i, and the Acura MDX over a 6-month period. Was able to negotiate a fair price on a GL550 and do not regret getting this SUV. It has the mannerism of a sedan in and around town and a quiet interior at highway speeds. My only issues are the exterior mirrors (too small) and the lack of Real-time traffic update. The 7-speed transmission shifts effortlessly and it has more than enough power for a vehicle weighing in at over 2 1/2 tons.

    When you turn it on, it returns the favor!

    Aug 07, 2008 by: JSE224
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Many of us that are over 6'4" have a difficult time finding vehicles that bring the right blend of quiet comfort, handling, horsepower,headroom, knee room, technolgy, appearance, etc. The MBGL450 brings that and more to the table. Yes it gets good mileage for the horsepower. Long trips are a pleasure again. This is the first vehicle that could do 0-100 without feeling that it was going to blow up. We have had ours a year. Everything did and still is working correctly. YEAH! We are spoiled for life! Thanks MB Hello German engineering! Jim Raleigh, NC

    DISAPPOINTED BY MERCEDES AGAIN

    Jul 14, 2008 by: AOL user

    SUSPECT QUALITY! POOR GAS MILEAGE! POOR ENGINEERING! WHEN MY LEASE IS UP, NEVER AGAIN WILL I BUY A MERCEDES.

    GL550

    Jun 28, 2008 by: TEDRACER
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I love it. I wanted a little more power and more equipment and this has it all. Gets great milage for the size and power of this car. 15 in town and 19 to 20 on the highway. It drives like a car and not and SUV. I still have people look at it on the road and when stopped have had many people say it is a great looking MB.Would love to see and AMG version in the future.It also handles very well for a big SUV. A very comfortable car to drive on a long trip.

    Review of 2008 Mercedes-Benz GL-Class

    May 21, 2008 by: DJK0614
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    diesel GL

    Feb 07, 2008 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    this is a great vehicle-25mpgplus on the freeway.

    *The data and content on this web site is subject to change without notice. Neither AOL nor any of its data or content providers shall be liable for errors in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.

    Powered by

    More on the GL-Class

    Whether you're a buyer or owner of the 2008 Mercedes GL-Class we've got you covered.

    FIND A GREAT USED CAR

    GO
    Powered by
    Get a free CARFAX record check for a used car

    Great Auto Loan Rates

    Low Rates on New and Used Autos

    Powered By Apply In One Easy Step »
    Read customer reviews from Mercedes-Benz owners to see how they rate the 2008 GL-Class; or share your opinion of the Mercedes-Benz GL-Class.
    Best Deal:
    Our Price:
    Savings:
    MSRP:
    Go Back to Best Deals »