2009 MINI Cooper

    (21 Reviews)




    MSRP
    $18,550 - $23,900
    Advertisement

    2009 MINI Cooper Owner Reviews

    Average Rating

    21 Owner Reviews

    Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Review from a Road Warrior

    Mar 23, 2010 by: sonogirl8
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I love my 2009 MINI and it's a good thing I do because I spend most of my time in it. I am writing this review for people who are considering buying this car for frequent long trips. The car is a blast but I'm not sure I would make the decision to purchase again because of all the long trips I take. In 14 months I have driven this car almost 60,000 miles. To be honest, the interior is not very comfortable. I have owned a 2001 Nissan Sentra SE and a 2002 Infiniti I35 that were so much more comfortable than the Mini. After driving about 2 hours on the highway in the Mini I start to get fidgety. Being in the passenger seat is almost unbearable after one hour. My (5'8) daughter is fine in the back seat on short trips, but after an hour she is also uncomfortable. And I don't know why, ******* very easy to get motion sickness in this car! There is actually a ton of space in the back with the rear seat folded down. I prefer to keep the seat down unless I need the room for passengers. The controls are very awkward although you pretty much get used to them after awhile. I don't like the placement of the ipod jack, it's almost impossible to connect while you are driving (and I'm a multi-tasker!) I love the styling of both the interior and exterior! Very different and I get lots of compliments on my red and black seats, double sunroof, and huge gauges (though they're not for everyone.) Mood lights are cool too! The car is a real attention-getter and you feel like you belong to a special club because when you drive past other Mini owners you always get a wave or a smile. Its also great to brag about getting 500 miles to a tank, but that comes at a price... the car really doesn't have any pickup especially on the highway. I havent had any quality issues with the car so far. The Mini is a really fun car to drive, and if I didn't have to drive as much as I do, I would definitely purchase again. Just wanted to give my 2 cents for my fellow road warriors :)

    LOVE IT!

    Sep 27, 2009 by: vamp6996
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Have had my '05 for a few months. Will never own anything else.. The one I have now is a hardtop. Next one will be a Cabrio.. Gas Mileage is wonderful! Corners like it's on rails!

    Mini 2008

    Sep 27, 2009 by: tombt
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Purchased a Cooper S (2008) one year ago. No mechanical issues to report. No problems to report. Easily the most enjoyable car I've ever owned. Back seat pretty non-existent so consider a Clubman if carrying more than 2 passengers. Babe magnet. Ticket magnet too since the car's quickness makes speeding easy. But the quickness really comes in handy when merging into highway traffic. My college age son made fun of the car when we brought it home. He then borrowed it for several days and now is a believer.

    They are not for everyone

    Sep 27, 2009 by: vb23462
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I bought a base Cooper in June. In the first month it was in the shop 3 times. Once for a battery problem, once because the map lights would come on by themselves and not turn off and once because the windshield wipers failed. The forst time it got hot cosmolene would leak out of body joints and ruined the black fender flares. They were replaed under warranty though. When the car was functional it was a blast to drive with more than enough power to keep up on the highway while getting 42 MPG. The car is more of a two seater. I cant see how anyone could sit in the back but with the rear seat folded down it had a good amount of storage room. One issue with these cars is the lack of dealerships. In my state there are only 3 and my friend in Northern Va reports 2 to 3 month waits for service. If you dont like your dealer it is not like you can go down the street and try another. My next closest dealer is 120 miles away. So when I reported a high pitched whine in my engine and was told it was " normal " getting another opinion would be an all day affair. In the end I saw how my friend was treated with his after a clutch failure at only 1400 miles. They blamed him and denied warranty coverage. the dual mass clutch plan on spending 3 grand plus for the repair. If you have an automatic and your trans fails out of warranty plan on 5 k or more for replacement. All in all it is a fun car but service support is lacking and build quality is not ************** be for its high price compared to other cars its size. This is not a car you would ever want to own outside of warranty. I sold mine last weel with only 1,500 miles on it after owning it for 3 months. I simply did not have confidence in the car or the ability of the dealer to servide it properly.

    Review of 2009 MINI Cooper

    Sep 27, 2009 by: rosaritobob
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I've had my Mini "S" for about 6 months. It is like driving a 172 HP go-cart. Front seats are very comfortable. It is fast and when I push the sport button - Hang On - . Not much trunk space but rear seats fold down easily for 2 sets of golf clubs or whatever. It is not a real quiet ride and bumpy roads take their toll but the over all experience keeps a perpetual smile on your face. I love it. I get a true 24 MPG in stop and go traffic.

    TOMCAT

    Sep 14, 2009 by: tomcat1647
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I've had my 2008 MiniCooper S a little over a year and a half. Traded in a 2007 Lexus RX350 for it. Nothing wrong with the Lexus but it was 'BORING' to drive. I wanted something with 'attitde'. The Mini serves that up by the 'shovel load'! I had the JCW Engine and Brake Package installed and WOW does it make a diffference! I also had the 'gauge' package' installed with rev limited lights. You don't need them ********* my baby. Reminds me of my BMW 2002Tii a long time ago. I always get compliments wherever I go with it. Ordering it was fun and seeing where it was in production (via internet)is a cleaver idea. My Dealer MIN of North Scottsdale couldn't do more for me. They are really great! Now my greatest problem is do I use my two motorcycles (I come from AZ) or take the MINI. No matter ********* a fun choice and the MINI is a blast! One thing to know. The initial price is low, but start adding options and the price can climb really fast. I definitly think it was worth it!

    My Mini loves the mountains!

    Aug 12, 2009 by: ibby41
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Just returned home from a trip through the Smokey Mountains....what a blast my 2002 Mini was to drive around all those curves while I waved as I passed all those semis! Had great pick-up, too!

    love my mini

    Jul 11, 2009 by: zordy
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I've had my mini for less than a week but I am having so much fun!! the commute to work is no longer a drag. I have the 6 speed and it flys! The comfort access is well worth the price, I ordered mine and it was here in a month! I can't say enough good things about her. It takes a little getting used to with all the controls and features ******** all part of the fun. The website is fun too and it's like a little family, so come join the family... you'll be glad you did. BTY my hubby is in love with her too and he can't wait to drive her when I let him...

    Love our MINI

    May 13, 2009 by: dbjthecpa
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    We bought a fully equipped base model in January 2009 and have had a blast with the car. My wife says for the first time in her life she has an interesting car and not just an appliance on wheels. Great handling and mileage; we average 28-35 mpg just like the specs say. It is fascinating to be running at a steady 70 and see the instant mpg readout show 35-40. The car is plenty roomy up front for two and if my 5' 2" wife pulls the seat forward my 5'10" son can sit in the back for 60 mile trips. We bought this base model off the lot, sure the interior trim is just OK, but our budget would not allow us getting the fancy model with the upgraded leather, etc. Great value for the money and extremely clever engineering. In the spirit of BMW, the computer settings can be confusing at times, but just READ the manual. And each key has it's own memorized group of settings, who else but BMW!

    Mini S Convertible Cooper Works

    May 01, 2009 by: painmedicine1
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    This car belies its size. Truly great handling. Never a worry on highway entrance, or in sprints. A sports car wonder. The cute factor seems to allay the interest of my local highway patrol as well. Not that I am a speed freak, although this car allows for that. It feels like it rides on rails. No shakes or rattles despite the convertible format. Good wind control with the top down. Even gets good mileage (28 or so) under heavy loads. I also use the bike rack which is great unless you have the back up warning signal, as it seems to worry that you will hit the attached rack due to sensor location. BAck seat fits my kids with no problem. Okay for adults for short distances.Can't have everything, but this is as close as it gets in a sub-supercar price range!

    1 2 3

    *The data and content on this web site is subject to change without notice. Neither AOL nor any of its data or content providers shall be liable for errors in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.

    Powered by

    More on the Cooper

    Whether you're a buyer or owner of the 2009 MINI Cooper we've got you covered.

    FIND A GREAT USED CAR

    GO
    Powered by
    Get a free CARFAX record check for a used car

    Great Auto Loan Rates

    Low Rates on New and Used Autos

    Powered By Apply In One Easy Step »
    Read customer reviews from MINI owners to see how they rate the 2009 Cooper; or share your opinion of the MINI Cooper.
    Best Deal:
    Our Price:
    Savings:
    MSRP:
    Go Back to Best Deals »