2012 Jeep Liberty

    (122 Reviews)




    MSRP
    $23,395 - $28,995
    Advertisement

    '02-'12 Jeep Liberty Owner Reviews

    Average Rating

    122 Owner Reviews

    Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    2nd liberty,love them

    Jun 09, 2012 by: fabfourpal
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    this is our 2nd liberty,had an 2007 ,leased but purchased an 2012 from west herr,big rebates and customer loyality cash.mcgard wheel locks,weather tech floor mats, and 6 year warrenty. expect to keep a long time. had an 1996 cherokee with 175,000 miles till an accident. yes jeeps arn't good on gas, but this is another vehicle to take family out, and to get to work on our nasty buffalo winters. has had for 7 months, got 4000 miles, changed oil 2 times and love this truck.some people expect the moon with a vehicle and then complain. use aol for research before buying.

    I love my Liberty

    Mar 13, 2012 by: tralfaz16
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    After 130,000 miles I am still one happy camper. The vehicle is reliable. I am still on the original muffler. What don't I like. Gas mileage. Bug I wanted a larger block 4x4 synchronized drive vehicle. I've driven across country 3 times and gone off, off road more than once. No complaints.

    Mixed blessing

    Jan 13, 2012 by: danintv
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I wanted a small SUV that wasn't cheaply made and promised quality without breaking the bank. Overall I am satisfied but irritated that Jeep didn't spend a little more time getting it right. On the plus side, the Liberty is sturdy. Yes, it's heavy, but I had a minor run in with a pickup and got only a scratch which buffed out. I was also rear ended at a stop light, resulting in very heavy damage to the Volvo. The jeep had scratches and a paint chip to the bumper. The little suv handles well, has decent storage space and is easy to load and unload. The sound system is really good but the 6 disc CD changer quit just out of warranty. The console has generous storage space and the sunroof is tight and trouble free. The exterior is great-gorgeous red paint, nice wheels, right size and easy entrance and exit. Overall it's a satisfying ride except for a few irritations. The interior is where it disappoints. The seat fabric is pitiful. It seems at attract dirt, is very difficult to clean and the headliner and doors are just as bad. The footwells are very narrow, the rear seat needs more legroom or should adjust. The driver's seat is not power and the seats in general aren't very comfortable. There's no audio controls on the steering wheel and controls are awkwardly located. The ride is typically Jeep rough, with lots of pitching and the fuel economy is 15 mpg in mixed city/highway driving - very disappointing fora small SUV. The Goodyear tires were a joke. They were VERY noisy, had iffy wet-weather traction and wound up separating a tread. A set of inexpensive Coopers made it a much quieter and better ride. I've had several light bulbs go out, several check engine lights that were bogus, and 3 times where the starter wouldn't engage the first attempt. Trips to the dealer have found nothing wrong so we will continue on and see what happens. The main question is always "Would you buy this car again?" My answer is a definite maybe.

    2012 Jeep Liberty Limited Jet

    Dec 08, 2011 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    POOR..Do not purchase unless you accept the following as normal. The engine ticks extremely loud while idling / at red lights, and it is loud enough for you to question it., however Chrysler says this is normal for the Jeep Liberty. The engine shudders/vibrates and roars from 50-60 mph...This is also described by Chrysler as normal and a product of the Jeep Liberty.

    more transmission problems

    Sep 07, 2011 by: mikemcsw2
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I read previous review and I am having same problems. Transmission seems to pull back around 50mph. something feels very wierd. also, transmission is not strong enough on slight hill from stopping the car from rolling backwards...very small hill. I had another problem with "crunching noise" on front end, and it is still there. Dealer said they couldn't duplicate problem...ridiculous, the problem is still there. If they tell me they cant find anything with transmission, i am going to see about a class action lawsuit!

    I WISH I NEVER BOUGHT THIS JEEP

    Apr 03, 2011 by: javaman01905
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    AS A NEW FIRSTIME JEEP OWNER I WILL NEVER BUY A JEEP AGAIN I HAVE HAD IT IN THE SHOP MORE TIMES THEN ANY NEW OR USED CAR I HAVE OWNED THE CLUSTER HAS BEEN REPLACED 4 TIMES WITH ONLY 26,000 MILES ON IT THE WIPERS COME ON AND LIGHTS COME ON AND YOU CAN'T THE JEEP OUT OF PARK I WROTE A LETTER TO JEEP AKA CHRYSLER CORP COMPLAINING OF MY PROBLEMS THEY CALLED ME BACK SAYING WE ARE SORRY YOUR HAVING PROBLEMS WITH YOUR JEEP THERE IS NOTHING WE CAN DO JUST A LOUSY COMPANY NEVER BUY AMERICAN AGAIN THEY LOST MY BUSINESS ALSO MY ELECTRONIC DISPLAY GOES OUT WHEN THEY REPLACE THE CLUSTER I'M AFRAID TO TAKE IT ON LONG TRIPS

    Jeep Liberty engine and transmission problems

    Jan 31, 2011 by: captsilvio
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    The new 2011 Jeep Liberty has some nice features, such as the comfortable and functional inteior. I like the fact that the rear seats fold completly flat, great for carrying my bikes inside. The roof rack is strong enough to carry my two kayaks and most of all I can tow the 4x4 Limited behind my RV. The big problem I am having is the poor engine performance. It has a definite feel of engine miss, a feeling of surging, rough running when you get into overdrive at around 50 mph. It has been to two different dealers a total of 4 time and they can't find the problem. The big problem is there seems to be no help from Jeep/Chrysler to fix this problem. I have owned 5 Jeeps, a loyal Jeep customer, why can't they provide some help and get my Jeep running correctly. They are using the same "old" tech 3.7 engine that has been around for quite some time. At this point I am waiting to here from Jeep to come out with a TSB for this problem. If they don't come up with something soon it may have to go by way of the lemon law. This does not help either of us in the long run, so I hope they can fix the problem. Until such time I can't recomend buying a Jeep!

    2004 jeep liberty love it

    Sep 26, 2010 by: poppopsix
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    looks real hot i added alot of chrome to it and it just looks awesome. handels just like my wife chrysler 00.the 3.7 engine is real fast.the back seats realy are not that comfortable but passable.the trusk looks like the beast of the of road moon roof is awesome and the truck handels real nice . it looks brand new, in fact i took it in for service and the dealer thaut is was new.its not for sale . ill keep this baby.

    Review of 2004 Jeep Liberty

    Jul 02, 2010 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I drove my Jeep off the lot with 4 miles on it. It has been a great car until about 100k. Now I am at 104k and have a brand new transmi$$ion, AC system and am still trying to figure out how to open the back gate with a broken latch. Other than that, it has been great. Beats a car payment, wouldn't trade it for anything.

    Review of 2002 Jeep Liberty

    Mar 18, 2010 by: troc79
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability
    1 2 3 4 13

    *The data and content on this web site is subject to change without notice. Neither AOL nor any of its data or content providers shall be liable for errors in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.

    Powered by

    FIND A GREAT USED CAR

    GO
    Powered by
    Get a free CARFAX record check for a used car

    Great Auto Loan Rates

    Low Rates on New and Used Autos

    Powered By Apply In One Easy Step »
    Read customer reviews from Jeep owners to see how they rate the 2012 Liberty; or share your opinion of the Jeep Liberty.
    Best Deal:
    Our Price:
    Savings:
    MSRP:
    Go Back to Best Deals »