2008 Hyundai Sonata

    (27 Reviews)




    MSRP
    $21,120
    Advertisement

    2008 Hyundai Sonata Owner Reviews

    Average Rating

    27 Owner Reviews

    Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Great value for money.

    Nov 12, 2011 by: superjc
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Nice mid size car. Great value for your money. The suspension needs a little work when compare to German cars. Very reliable. 45k so far. Northing broke yet. I just had normal maintenance done. Take your car to other dealers if they don't solve your car's problem.There are other Hyundai dealers out there who cares and will take care of u.

    Review of 2008 Hyundai Sonata

    Mar 25, 2010 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    we have a 2009 sonata with 10 thousand miles on it, have a loud noise in the right, took back to dealer with a complant, left front strut making loud noise when hitting a bump. left car with dealer overnight when we returned the next day we were told that noise is normal,had company rep. drive car said same thing.Dealer refused to due anything about this problem, we have an extended warranty that we bought at time of purchase,still refused to do anything about it. Our dealer is located in Cuyahoga falls OHIO, now iam leery of my wife driving this car, and transporting our grand kids in it. but we are stuck with with footing the bill for repair at our expense. will never own a hyundai again. but of course no one will buy this car in this condition

    Bought new '08 in December 2007

    May 02, 2009 by: grondahl
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    We bought a new Sonata Limited after shopping all GM (which we really wanted to buy), Subaru, VW, Honda, Nissan, Volvo, Saab, Saturn. The Hyundai was the last we looked at and the deal/value made it the very evident choice. Plus, my wife liked it the best (I never thought she'd go for an import). The car is hers. We paid less than $23K for a very roomy, comfortable and attractive car, It has nice quality everywhere you look including the leather seats (heated), 17" easy maintenance wheels with Michelin tires, dual exhausts, stainless kick panels on the door rockers, 7 speaker Infinity sound with sub-woofer. It has a sunroof. The 4 cylinder had ample power but we got the V-6 because it was smoother/quieter. It gets about 28mpg interstate, 24 city. Nice transmission and more power than you need. Trunk is very large and, as it is every where you look, nicely finished. The engine compartment service items are easy to locate and service (I especially like how the oil filter comes off without a drop of oil spilled.) So far, we've had no service issues at all! Have you noticed how Hyundai's sales are slightly up lately while everyone else's are down? Go and drive this car and I think you'll buy one too.

    Lots of car - Little $$

    Apr 03, 2009 by: lenrx1
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    My 2008 sonata was purchased new in Dec. 2007. I've found it to be a terrific value for the money. For $16,900 you get a comfortably sized vehicle, not an econobox, that comes remarkably well equipped with features that include 4-wheel disc ABS brakes, traction and stability control, heated side-view mirrors, cruise control, steering wheel mounted audio controls, power seats, and an aftermarket sunroof that is identical to the factory version. The 4 cylinder engine has lots of power and great fuel ecomomy i sexcelllent...I get 38 mpg on long trips and a respectable 25 mpg. While its a great car, there are a few things Hyundai should do to improve this vehicle. For 2009 they alreacy have made the 5 speed automatic standard equipment in the 4-cylinder as well as the 6. They should also replace the fixed side-view mirrow housings with fold away housings (which are taken for granted in the Elantra, Santa Fe, Tucson, and Azera). Lastly, the standard audio sustem is the pits. The FM Stereo is OK, but the XM band suffers from lack of stereo separation and a distinct "satellite" sound quality. As for the AM band, it seems to be there only because it has to. On Long Island, NY, when I want to listen to the all news station at 880, I get bleed through from a local station that broadcasts on 1100. This would be excusable if the frequencies were adjacent and I was very near the transmitter of the station on 1100, but the frequencies are far apart and not multiples of one another, and I am a full 10 miles from the 1100 KHz transmitter. The CD player provides the best sound of all program sources, but is only a single disc player. Another thing that would be handy and only cost a few cents per unit is an i-Pod in jack, something that is also standard on other Hyundai models both above and below the Sonata in price. come to think o fit, standardizing parts like audio systems and side mirrors to the extent possible throughout the model line-up would hold down costs.

    2009 Hyundai Sonata

    Sep 27, 2008 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I recently bought a 2009 Sonata. I had a Buick Century that I dearly loved. So comfortable and I travel a lot as my loved ones all live 500-1000 miles away so the Buick was great for comfort on those long drives. A man wiped out my husband's Buick and the man had no insurance. My husband decided that since I drive the long distances he would take my Buick and I would have the new car. I was not happy about that but knew it was the best solution. I researched new cars and my heart was not in it. I chose the Sonata for the cheaper price than a Honda and Toyota and because it has a good warranty and it looks a little like my Buick but smaller. Well, I have fallen in love with the car that I resented having to buy. We took it to Atlanta, Ga from Charlotte NC and it only used 1/4 tank of gas. It is quite comfortable and roomy inside and it handles so smoothly. I love the large trunk. Like I said I travel a lot and there is plenty of room for my suitcases and Christmas gifts at Christmas. My sister-in-law and her family only buys Hondas and she was over and told me how she loves her Honda but that they are bad to hydroplane in the wet weather. No problem with my Sonata!!! I would encourage anyone in need of a good car to consider this one. I looked at Nissan and Toyota but have no regrets. Great car.

    2006 Sonata - 2008 Santa Fe

    Aug 02, 2008 by: Hiking1313
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I bought a 2005 Sante Fe from Jenkins Hyundai, Ocala, FL in 2005 and loved it. In 2006, I traded it for a 2006 Sonata 4-cyl and was very impressed with this car. Just took a trip to Boston and averaged 35 mpg up and 34 mpg back during the 2,600 mile trip. Handled awesome on the highways. My wife just bought a 2008 Santa Fe and loves it as well. AWESOME service for the past 3 years at Jenkins Hyundai, Ocala, FL. Nothing has had to be fixed on any of the 3 vehicles so far. We have bought 3 vehicles there and will be only buying Hyundais in the future. I was a BMW and Mercedes owner for many years and I am very pleased with the construction and safety of these Hyundais we now own. JF

    Great Deal

    Jul 18, 2008 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    This car is awesome! We are enjoying the smooth ride, gas saving, and stylish look. We were not considering a Hyundai until a friend recommended it, boy are we glad we did!

    Better than my Honda!

    Jul 17, 2008 by: Martine 21
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I bought this car for my wife and she loves it. People think it's a lexus...hahaha... She gets 28 miles per gallon with 50 % highway and 50% suburban driving. On a trip to Duluth she got 34 miles to the gallon. Great looking car...comfortable and very snappy for a 4 cyl. I like driving it better than my Accord. My next car will be a Sonata! M.G. Twn cities, MN

    I LOVE MY SONATA

    Jul 05, 2008 by: KtRodriqu
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    MY 2008 SONATA WAS THE BEST PURCHASE I HAVE EVER MADE. IT IS VERY COMFORTABLE, PLENTY OF ROOM SPACE. IT IS A QUIET RIDE. IT HANDLES GREAT, NOT TO MENTION GREAT ON GAS. HYUNDAI HAS COME A LONG WAY, I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS CAR TO EVERYONE. HYUNDAI HAS MY 100% APROVAL. AND ALSO WHEN I WAS PURCHASING MY CAR THE SALES MAN WAS VERY HELPFULL, AND ANSWERED ALL MY QUESTIONS. VERY NICE SALES PEOPLE AT ATLANTIC AUTOMALL IN WEST ISLIP NEW YORK.

    testyourself

    Apr 27, 2008 by: Dev without SNS user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability
    1 2 3

    *The data and content on this web site is subject to change without notice. Neither AOL nor any of its data or content providers shall be liable for errors in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.

    Powered by

    More on the Sonata

    Whether you're a buyer or owner of the 2008 Hyundai Sonata we've got you covered.

    FIND A GREAT USED CAR

    GO
    Powered by
    Get a free CARFAX record check for a used car

    Great Auto Loan Rates

    Low Rates on New and Used Autos

    Powered By Apply In One Easy Step »
    Read customer reviews from Hyundai owners to see how they rate the 2008 Sonata; or share your opinion of the Hyundai Sonata.
    Best Deal:
    Our Price:
    Savings:
    MSRP:
    Go Back to Best Deals »