2009 Honda Fit

    (20 Reviews)




    MSRP
    $14,750 - $16,260
    Advertisement

    2009 Honda Fit Owner Reviews

    Average Rating

    20 Owner Reviews

    Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    A **************** Car

    May 22, 2010 by: lw1750
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    We have had our 2009 Fit for almost a year, and my wife and I love everything about it. It has amazing cargo room for a small car, and the seats are so easy to fold into place to permit this room. The Fit is a really solid car, feels great to drive, and is certainly not wimpy in acceleration. The seats are comfortable and easy to get into. The ride is good for a subcompact. It is an excellent car for the road or just around town.

    Glad I bought it!

    Feb 07, 2010 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    When I bought my Fit a year ago I was looking for a small car with a tight turning radius, a car I could take on road trips with bikes stowed in back, a car that could haul gardening and home improvement stuff, a car with good mileage, and a car with superior engineeering and safety. I got all of this with my Fit. The Fit's strength is city driving -- great gas mileage, great maneuverability, nice tight U-turns, and a nice jack-rabbit start from stop lights. It does fine on road trips, where I run it all day at 75 mph, getting 36 mpg, but it has zero extra power for passing, so be aware of this power situation. Excellent stability conrol saved my life -- really -- one day on a bad wet weather spin-out. One strange thing: it doesn't have automatic headlight switch-off when you park the car, so it's possible to forget and leave the lights on and come back to find a dead battery. Also, the on-board computer reminds you of maintenance tasks, which is fine, but the Owner's Manual should also include the standard chart of what to do at how many miles, but it doesn't. I'm glad the 2009 model has had no recalls. I'm very happy I bought this car.

    A mini-SUV that drives like my old Miata

    Oct 24, 2009 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    What a joy this car has turned out to be. I've always driven sports cars - Miata, Alfa Romeos, Audis, even an old Morgan. The Fit drives like my old Miata but has room for 4 people or tons of stuff with the magic seats folded down. It is very spirited, sporty, responsive -- really zippy to drive. Visibility is great, better than any other small SUV, small sports wagon in it's class. The "extra" side windows front and back remove nearly all the blind spots, which was a real problem for my short wife on all other cars we tested. Being up a bit higher than the average car is a real positive on SUV filled freeways. I had doubts about getting an automatic transmission in a small engine car, but the 5 speed automatic has the fastest and most positive shifts of any automatic I've driven other than the Audi/TDI DSG tranny. Shifts up and down by the cruise control are very precise -- no hunting up and down with hilly terrain. The shift paddles on the steering wheel are a nice touch, seldom needed but really nice when you want to downshift to pass or just have some fun. Mileage has been 32+ so far for city and hilly freeways. I expect it to go up a few MPG on flat commutes. The blue sensation pearl paint is stunning. There is great attention to detail in the design - 6 cupholders in front (2 of them are right in front of the A/C vent so drinks stay cold!) Side pockets and storage abound. Instrumentation is well positioned and lighted so is very visible, all controls are easy to reach and intuitive to use. Only things I have needed to add are drop-down extensions for the visors and a dash cover. We bought the car on the next to the last day of the clunkers program and the salesman and entire dealership were very friendly and completely service oriented, the most pleasurable car buying experience I have ever had. We got the promised price thru a buyers club program despite the dealership expecting to sell out all remaining Fits (which they did!).

    Excellent Fit

    Oct 11, 2009 by: xomarneyxo
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Love our 2009 Fit. I have the revolution orange 2009 fit. I cannot believe how many people come to ask us about our new car. It is economical, spacious and looks great. We have had no problems or complaints. I had the rear Windows tinted for added privacy. The only trouble has been finding snow chains. This has a new tire size.

    Gale

    Oct 07, 2009 by: galepru
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    The headrest on the 09 FIT pushes the driver's head uncomfortably forward. Needs to be redesigned. The paddles on the steering wheel obstruct the view of the "lights" indicator on the steering column. I have approx. 1,000 miles on the odometer and calculate the mpg at 34 to 37 mpg. My plan is to tow the FIT, four down, behind my RV. If anyone is towing the FIT, please let me know. Other than the two complaints above, I love the FIT.

    Love the Fit

    Jun 10, 2009 by: follinrd
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Bought this to replace an older Jeep Wrangler that was on it's last leg. Needed a vehicle that would carry 4 people, or 2 people and 2 dogs. This car is AMAZINGLY spacious on the inside. But also wanted something economical on gas and low-maintenance. Honda is excellent in that respect, always a trustworthy brand. It drives very smoothly and is a comfortable ride. It is great for hauling stuff (shopping, auction finds, animals, luggage, etc.) All this wrapped up into a small price tag made this a no-brainer for us.

    2009 HONDA FITS SOMETIMES

    May 03, 2009 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Have had car for 4 months. Has Nav system and all the options. Generally agree with the 5 star ratings BUT there are some changes needed. They include: Horrible reflection on windshield-had to put down a antireflective matt to see out on sunny days. The mileage gauge (AVG MPG) is way off. Mine reads 15-20% higher than actual mileage. I am a large person (6-1,220 lbs and the seats don;t provide enough lateral or thigh support. Do love the iPod connections but you can forget the card-reader behind the screen-that must be an ex-USA feature.

    It FITS for me

    Mar 11, 2009 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I love my 2009 Honda Fit Sport. It is so comfortable to drive, handles well, gets great gas mileage (32-40mpg) , and is easy on the eyes, too! I like the alert lights-- from tire pressure to air bags to lights. Visibility is massive and the windshield wipers cover the entire window. It looks like a small car, but it is anything but small. The turning radius makes parking and maneuvering a breeze. The space inside for passengers and cargo is amazing. It is the best car all-round that I have ever owned. I have absolutely no regrets.

    Love my Fit

    Mar 10, 2009 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I just purchased my 2009 Honda Fit, what a great car. I love it and so far, have gotten 39 mpg around town. More room inside then it looks, and so much fun to drive. I never buy anything but Honda's and this was certainly a wise purchase.

    Great Car

    Feb 20, 2009 by: ODYSSEY16
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    This is my 2nd Fit. I had an '07 that left when my ex and I split. I traded in a 4Runner for this one and, as much as I loved my SUV, I have no regrets. I use this frequently to haul my son and his hockey equipment around the West. It holds a ton of gear. If the on board computer is accurate, I'm getting over 40 mpg with almost 6000 miles on the car...nice. The driver's position, while not perfect, is much better than the earlier version (I'm 6-2). The telescoping/tilt steering wheel is a great improvement. I still find Honda's design that prevents a view of the front end of the car uncomfortable but the front is short so it's not a major problem. This car has changed the way I drive. I'm constantly aware of my mpg and strive to keep it high by slowing down. It's a much more relaxing way to drive. If you're into utility and economy, this car is wonderful. I highly recommend it.

    *The data and content on this web site is subject to change without notice. Neither AOL nor any of its data or content providers shall be liable for errors in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.

    Powered by

    More on the Fit

    Whether you're a buyer or owner of the 2009 Honda Fit we've got you covered.

    FIND A GREAT USED CAR

    GO
    Powered by
    Get a free CARFAX record check for a used car

    Great Auto Loan Rates

    Low Rates on New and Used Autos

    Powered By Apply In One Easy Step »
    Read customer reviews from Honda owners to see how they rate the 2009 Fit; or share your opinion of the Honda Fit.
    Best Deal:
    Our Price:
    Savings:
    MSRP:
    Go Back to Best Deals »