2009 Honda Civic

    (24 Reviews)




    MSRP
    $20,855
    Advertisement

    2009 Honda Civic Owner Reviews

    Average Rating

    24 Owner Reviews

    Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Review of 2009 Honda Civic

    Mar 28, 2011 by: mnashrambler
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    1st time Civic owner, in late 50's...love my 2009 Coupe EX and it handles simply fantastic on curvey roads and hills. In summer getting 35 - 39 mpg in everyday driving and in low 30's in winter months. (very satisfied especially when gas is $3.60/gal) The 4 cyl provides plenty of power and if I had a bunch more, I would definetly get into a lot of trouble. This car is so razor sharp in the curves, It's like driving a slot car. I love it. What a fun car to drive.

    LOVE MY CIVIC!!!!

    Sep 16, 2009 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I grew up in a house that drove only Honda's: obviously due to their reliability, safety, lifetime value, etc. So after I graduated from college and bought my first car I wanted to branch out and try something different so I bought a NEW car from GM. I have never been so disapointed in my life, the car constantly had problems and when it came time to trade it in it seemed impossible. It did not hold it's value at all and I was stuck. I was FINALLY able to sell it to a private buyer and then was thrown back into the market again. I looked at the 2009 Ford Focus, Toyota Camry, and Honda Civic due to their similarities and good gas mileage. After driving the Civic Coupe I knew it was the one and purchased it immediatly! I know understand why my parents only drove Honda's, I have had not one problem with my Civic and I drive it ALL THE TIME! I have also been in two accidents and have been shocked both times to see how little damage was done to my car compared to the other and just how safe it really is! I am OBSESSED with my Civic and have never gotten so many compliments in my life! It is not only a beautiful car but is also a reliable one! What more could you ask for? I also have two big dogs and often haul them around in my car and if you took a look in my car you would never know! If you are in the market for a new car I strongly urge you to check out the Civic, you definatly will not be disapointed!!!

    2009 Civic 4 Door

    Sep 16, 2009 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Now have 22,000 miles. Driven it to Phoenix, Portland, Denver and Reno from Salt Lake. Great mileage. Had one problem (loose rear shock making thumping noise) which was fixed by the dealer. Get over 30 miles around town, and on the Phoenix trip got over 40 miles per gal. The only complaint I have is the road noise. I can live with that for the mileage I get. I like the cd player, seating, trunk space, color, quality, handling, but most of all the mileage.

    Correction: Honda Civic GX

    Jul 25, 2009 by: djwils0n2
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I accidentally put this under 2008 instead of 2009. Here is the correction. The Honda Civic GX is a awesome car, I bought mine and a Phil Gas station and am paying about $0.80 a Gasoline Gallon Equivalent (GGE). The only shortcoming is the lack of a large tank, the 3600PSI CNG tank only holds around 8 GGE which results in about 220-250 miles per tank. Since I previously owned a Honda Civic Hybrid my good driving habits are partially responsible for my good mileage. If you are interested in Green, don't select a hybrid or a clean diesel but try a NGV. There are a few really nice perks to owning the NGV, especially if you own the Phil station. 1. You are totally untethered from the gasoline and it's issues. The price of gas may go to $5+ and as a NGV driver you are still paying about $1 per GGE. 2. CNG burns cleaner than any gasoline or diesel and in the end will probably cost less to run than plug in electric cars. 3. There are many government incentives to invest in a NGV, like the 7k tax credit from the federal and some states even offer thier own incentives. Also many power companies offer discounted costs on natural gas if you have a Phil station. The best however is the fact that you are helping the environment and Americans most of our natural gas is home grown.

    Honda Civic LX

    Jul 04, 2009 by: smindx9
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Just taken over a lease on a 2009 Civic from my wife who changed her mind! Car has done only 197 miles. Poor ride quality Significant road noise Noisy engine even at low revs. No central locking on LX Value Package model. Honda dealer says this is normal?? Some good points, good design, very roomy for small car. Would not buy this car and am looking to hand it back to the dealer..expensive!

    Seems like a good car

    Jul 01, 2009 by: mission76
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Just bought the EX-L with Navigation, and have been driving it for 200 miles so it's not like I have had a lot of time with it but so far it seems like a good car. Obviously it's hard to really get psyched and pumped to drive a honda civic because lets face ******** not particulary fast or stylish, but it gets you where you want to go, saves gas and is very comfortable. People are complaining a lot of road noise while driving and maybe it's just me but that really seems like nitpicking, it's not that bad. One thing I really don't like so far is the lack of interior features...things like intermitent wipers or a trip computer that gives average mpg or even power seats. For a fully loaded car I would think these things should be standard. The heated seats have only two settings high and low so I don't know how that's going to be in the winter. Finally the navigation system with the voice recognition is pretty cool but a little gimmicky. For some reason the car has to repeat everyhting you tell it before it does it resulting in a ten second gap between you saying something and the car doing it. I like the bluetooth phone link but couldn't they have made it so the caller info appears on the honda screen rather than you searching for your phone in your pocket or on the seat which kind of defeats the purpose of trying to keep your eyes on the road? Anyway for now that's the review you can email if you want if you have questions but overall, I'm pretty happy with my choice and have no buyers remorse or regrets.

    Review of 2009 Honda Civic

    Jun 21, 2009 by: esq1128
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Bought 2003 civic ex 4dr sedan new. Average 38-40 mpg on regular gas with trips to Las Vegas from Texas. Just love that flat rear floor for our 2 dogs and also people. Comes well equipped just added tinted windows and a casstte tape p;ayer for all my old tapes. 44,000 miles and only regular maintenance performed.

    Good Car

    Jun 09, 2009 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Smooth ride, lots of leg room. Only thing is that it doesn't get the advertised mileage of at least 32 mpg...acceleration okay, brakes not as good as I'e like. But for a car that I bought just so I could get around, it's not too shabby.

    Honda Problems Already

    May 25, 2009 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I didn't believe it when my tires started to wear out and getting brake squealing noises with less than 12,000 miles. The dealer replaced the brake linings and front tires since this was not covered under the warranty. Not getting the fuel milage as Honda list with this vehicle. Performance of the 4cyl is very sluggish. My John Deere tractor has a more comfortable ride than this car ! ! ! No more Honda's in my lifetime unless it is a lawn mower.

    Great, but,,,

    May 13, 2009 by: bertmass
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I bought my Civic sedan LX 6 months ago and at 9600 miles began hearing some squeaky brakes. I took it to the dealer at 9900 and he said the front brake pads were worn out - like this was no strange thing. What a let down this is - for a car touted as a low cost of ownership car on commercials - this cost $269 - I have owned more than 5 new cars in my life and never changed front pads this early. My girlfriend's Lexus has 30,000 miles and she hasn't changed pads yet. I'm just a normal, older driver, not a hard driver. I think Honda has to look into this.

    1 2 3

    *The data and content on this web site is subject to change without notice. Neither AOL nor any of its data or content providers shall be liable for errors in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.

    Powered by

    More on the Civic

    Whether you're a buyer or owner of the 2009 Honda Civic we've got you covered.

    FIND A GREAT USED CAR

    GO
    Powered by
    Get a free CARFAX record check for a used car

    Great Auto Loan Rates

    Low Rates on New and Used Autos

    Powered By Apply In One Easy Step »
    Read customer reviews from Honda owners to see how they rate the 2009 Civic; or share your opinion of the Honda Civic.
    Best Deal:
    Our Price:
    Savings:
    MSRP:
    Go Back to Best Deals »