2006 Honda Civic

    (34 Reviews)




    MSRP
    $14,560 - $24,440
    Advertisement

    2006 Honda Civic Owner Reviews

    Average Rating

    34 Owner Reviews

    Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    A good looking hi gas mileage car

    Jan 28, 2008 by: tec2step
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    <p>Have 2006 4 dr auto, I now have 40,000 miles on it. I get 36 MPG in Calif and on the west coast, soon as I gas it up off the west coast, AZ, Nevada, Utah, my mileage jumps to as Hi as 45 mpg in Texas &amp; hovers around 40 mpg. I also tow a rental trailer from Washington(Bellingham) to the bay area then the mileage drops to 24mpg. I also tow this car behind my RV for almost another 10,000 miles(yes its an automatic) so far I have had 1 blow out and 2 flat tires...........this is my 3rd Civic. This has been a good car for us. Its a noisy ride and too low to the ground.............Ted Cook</p>

    06 Civic Si

    Sep 29, 2007 by: djm8387
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    <p>Bought my Si in May of 2006 and now have approx. 11,000 miles on it.</p> <p>I still love the new body design...</p> <p>I was concerned about the mileage rating for the Si model with the 197hp vs the standard 140hp engine, but once I drove it and experienced the power and handling...yeah, I can live with the 21/31 mpg city/highway mileage. I drive somewhat aggressively and the best I&#39;ve gotten was 30 mpg on the highway. I know it would better if I could keep my foot out of it...but just try and do that... Easier said than done! It&#39;s really a blast to drive! Fortunately, no tickets yet...and it&#39;s red. :)</p> <p>On the flip side, I&#39;ve noticed that it can be finicky when shifting into 3rd gear, as it sometimes won&#39;t engage smoothly every time. Read about that problem before also, but it is controlable if you stay on top of things.</p> <p>The navigation system is awesome...especially for us guys who hate to ask for directions. :))</p> <p>Overall, the car is very impressive and I would buy another. I just wish that the dealers wouldn&#39;t jack up the price so much. After all, the car isn&#39;t made of gold... But I guess supply and demand does play a roll... Just don&#39;t expect to get one for what they advertise it for... Dealers around here tack on about $4500.00 over invoice, or about $2500.00 over</p> <p>MSRP on the Si model.</p> <p>One other thing... It might be worth getting the protective coating on the front, as it is prone to picking up little rock chips because it is so low. It seems to just suck up those little stones.</p> <p>If you like to drive, you will love this car!</p>

    5 stars for overall rating, 4 for backseat room, 5 for gas mileage.

    Sep 12, 2007 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    <p>I like my EX, with its larger wheels and four-wheel disc brakes, center fold-down cup-holder in back seat. I get 32-34 mpg around city and 36-48 on the highway, depending on speed and number of stops. The large digital speed indicator is great! I love to drive this car. It has plenty of power, yet great gas mileage. While it doesn&#39;t have the highway or rough road/street comfort of a larger car, such a small car must be expected to be a bit &#34;bouncier.&#34;</p>

    Great Honda Civic

    Sep 10, 2007 by: dipmaster9
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    <p>I bought an &#39;06 Civic EX NAV. The car behaves in a splendid manner. The engine is smooth and the acceleration is decent enough. Transmission works smoothly, with a minimum of downshifts going uphill.</p> <p>The only recurring problem that I have had, is with the construction of the &#34;B&#34; Pillar. It&#39;s been back to the dealer once, and the inside is coming apart once again. Rubber sealer strip at the B pillar is wearing prematurely from entering/exiting the car. That is a big disappointment. My last 5 Hondas did not do that to me.</p> <p>My son has an &#39;06 Civic EX NAV, Coupe and has none of the problems that I have with the 4 door. Has anyone had similar problems?</p> <p>I have found that cleaning the insides of the windshield is quite a reach, but I manage go get it done. I sure wish my arms were 6 inches longer.</p>

    THANK GOD FOR HONDAS!

    Sep 08, 2007 by: elma3
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    <p>I bought my Civic EX sedan almost a year ago and can&#39;t get enough of it! I take it on all family vacations and I can&#39;t get over how comfortable it is for the many hours on the road. I also clocked in 41 mpg on the highway! Can&#39;t beat that!</p> <p>The interior is incredibly stylish, especially for the price range...compare the interior of the civic to, let&#39;s say its comprable partner the Ford Focus. Not to mention, the exterior is extremely aerodynamic and sleek looking. Again, compare it to another one of the Civic&#39;s competitors the Chevy Cobalt or Cavalier. It just doesn&#39;t compare! You are definitely getting your money&#39;s worth by buying this car! Both in quality and gas mileage.</p> <p>It is going to be a sad day when I will have to sell this car, but one happy one because I will definitely be getting another Honda for sure! Do I have any other choice?</p>

    2006 Civic 5 Speed Coupe

    Sep 05, 2007 by: yelsna2
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    <p>Mileage is inflated:</p> <p>I check all the time and get with 80% highway about 31. Even on trips the best I ever got was 35 once and usually only 33. Never do all city but when I do 30% it goes down to about 28 so the 30 is a pipedream.</p> <p>Had a 98 Integra rated 26-30 which averaged 30-31 on the same commute. So it is not my driving. If anything I drive this less aggressive.</p> <p>I do like the car in a lot of other ways but I jumped on the high mileage and stopped looking at other cars. I have checked the mileage 30 times to see if it gets better it does not. It was definately a better car than the 2006 Acura RSX (which they stopped making). If I had known how much the mileage was inflated I would have continued looking and at least made the choice with the facts.</p> <p>It does seem a little flimsy as I slid at 2mph into ice bank and did $700 dollars damage under the door. The trunk weighs nothing so I can see how they have really reduced weight which I would imagine make a lot of body damage in a accident. Cabin may be safe but it will fold around you like nothing. With all the weight reduction I would expect the mileage.</p> <p>Driving if fun and I like the interior. Radio is OK in city but like most windshield antennas can not get good long distance when I am traveling far North.</p> <p>No mechanical problems and like the set up. If you like the car I would say buy it but know up front the true mileage is inflated.</p>

    Great Car

    Sep 05, 2007 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    <p>My company bought a Honda Civic dx for Inventory and its a great car. It gets 400 miles to a tank of gas. It gets roughly 40mpg. Its a very nice looking car and has a lot of power. Its had some tire issues because we put so many miles on it but the guys at Sherear Honda have been great about putting brand new tires on it and treating us right. When i go to buy a new car a civic is going to be my choice.</p>

    Great overall value

    Sep 05, 2007 by: acrylic2
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    <p>I wanted reliability, great gas mileage and reasonable performance. I got all three with my 2006 Civic LX. A consistent 30 mpg (combined), a peppy engine for driving around town, a smooth as silk 5 speed automatic and plenty of room for 4 adults. I really like the digital display with all the vital info (MPH, Fuel, Cooling Temp)sitting high for quick reference. While it will easily keep up with traffic on the Interstate, this is not a &#34;cruiser&#34;. At speeds above 75 it feels as light as it truely is. Not dangerous but not as stable as a heavy weight Sedan. All in all, if you want &#34;near hybrid&#34; gas mileage at a much lower price, along with snappy performance andfresh futuristic styling, I believe the Honda Civic is a great overall value.</p>

    Overall a Nice Ride, But It Has a Few Issues

    Sep 01, 2007 by: twzntx
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    <p>Overall, a nice economy ride. However, I&#39;m consistently seeing only 25 MPG and that is taking it easy around the burbs. Been that way since we bought it. We dinged (cracked) the rear tail light assembly and I bought a replacement assembly. Honda said &#34;easy to install.&#34; Found out you have to drop the bumper to replace the tail light assembly. Nice engineering touch! Fun to drive. Front seat is a little awkward for a tall person and there are some blind spots. I bought a convex (racing style) mirror to compensate the lack of good vision.</p>

    Great car; NOT IN THE RAIN

    Aug 31, 2007 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    <p>Bought a brand new 2006 Civic; it hydrolocked (water sucked up into the engine and beyond)in a moderate rainfall, driving at worst in 4&#34; of standing water. The damage to the engine was so severe that it WAS DEEMED TOTALED!!!!It was 3,000 miles old. It was my daughter&#39;s car; no one from the dealership to Honda USA was of any help, nor had any interest as to why this fluke situation ocurred. Only blamed my daughter, when no other car in our area (make or model) hydrlocked that night. Private mechanics say the air intake valve is too low to the ground. Drive a Civic in the rain? DON&#39;T BET ON IT.</p>

    *The data and content on this web site is subject to change without notice. Neither AOL nor any of its data or content providers shall be liable for errors in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.

    Powered by

    More on the Civic

    Whether you're a buyer or owner of the 2006 Honda Civic we've got you covered.

    FIND A GREAT USED CAR

    GO
    Powered by
    Get a free CARFAX record check for a used car

    Great Auto Loan Rates

    Low Rates on New and Used Autos

    Powered By Apply In One Easy Step »
    Read customer reviews from Honda owners to see how they rate the 2006 Civic; or share your opinion of the Honda Civic.
    Best Deal:
    Our Price:
    Savings:
    MSRP:
    Go Back to Best Deals »