2008 Ford Ranger

    (16 Reviews)




    MSRP
    $14,490 - $24,350
    Advertisement

    2008 Ford Ranger Owner Reviews

    Average Rating

    16 Owner Reviews

    Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    karmikeauto nailed it!

    Aug 24, 2008 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Go back and read it Ford Motor Company (FMC) - he's spot on!. Also--2008 Ranger XLT auto/3.0 six cyl 2-door extended cab: One more...inadeqaute lower back support. I dropped an "inside the bed" plastic bedliner into mine - without the extensions over the top/sides. However, if you lean over the side of the bed, it can EASILY dent the top metal, so I wish I had the other style of liner with the extensions up-and-over. As to the bed tie-downs, I added a short (5") chain extention on each of the tie-downs, which drape out over the liner so there is no paint chipping; works great! Also, even though I do not plan to carry more than the rated payload (including my own 6'3" 250 lbs - and I am also 56 yrs young), I put a pair of Monroe shocks that incorporate an external coil spring around the shock for added support. Raised it less than 2", but really helps it stay more level with a heavy load (400cc / 600 lb ATV). As to MPG, I get the FMC hwy rating of 20 MPG when I drive 65 MPH. If looking for more power, consider the big 4.0 six (almost same mpg as small 3.0 six cylinder). This is my 4th Ford truck (1988 F150, 1997 F150, 2000 F250 crew-cab diesel that I still have, and now this one).

    great on gas gas mileage

    Jul 12, 2008 by: Poolnspaguy

    this truck is great if y our a single guy and live in a small city. my last tank of gas lasted me about 340 miles for about two and a half weeks. i have a four cyclinder but it gets the job done. it tows a pair of seadoos great and hold my quad great in the bed. i have no complaints.

    TcvNDqBVlPUvuiqQdDZ

    May 27, 2008 by: tztw0s9zusr
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Review of 2008 Ford Ranger

    Nov 30, 2007 by: Dev without SNS user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    2007 FORD RANGER XLT......THE TRUTH!

    Oct 05, 2007 by: karmikeauto
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    <p>First, I love this little truck so far, but cars are my livelyhood and I take them seriously and this one has some rather stupid mistakes built into it. It rides good and is fun to drive, and is finished off well if what you want is an oversized car...but for truck owners, well....read below. This is the four cylinder, five speed automatic combination extended cab (without back access doors).</p> <p>Now the downers: Ford Engineers who NEVER OWNED A TRUCK DESIGNED THIS VEHICLE!!!! No third brake WITH BED LIGHT...this is a little big deal for a truck owner (HINT: I bought a 2003 third brake light from Ford and installed myself). Second, although this is an extended cab, NOTHING CAN BE PUT BEHIND THE DRIVER SEAT WITHOUT LIFTING IT OVER THE SEATS BECAUSE THE FRONT SEATS DON&#39;T FOLD FAR ENOUGH TO ALLOW ACCESS....grocery bags, children, nothing fits through the small crack between the back of the seat and the door jamb. If you want to use the back for storage, you better order the extended cab with the half doors- seriously!! Third, NO locking taligate! Fourth, I don&#39;t think Ford Motor EVER built a vehicle that gets the mileage they claim. This one, with 4 cyl and 5 speed auto,with synthetic oil, gets 23/24 highway and 17/18 in town....I&#39;m 56 and bought the 4 for gas mileage, so obviously I drive it easy. My old S-10 4 cyl got 33- go figure. Good power, and will pull a small trailer OK, but with the 5 speed it is always shifting, and on the interstate this is a small problem. Those good looking chrome 6 spoke standard wheels have plastic chrome inserts- look carefully. Would daytime running lights cost anything???- they are not on the Ford? Tie down hooks in the bed are recessed making access difficult. Overall, I wouldn&#39;t buy another one- Ford Motor really needs to have TRUCK PEOPLE design their trucks and much of this could have been eliminated! One observation from working on them though is that all the rangers are built well and give long- very long service</p>

    2007 Ranger STX

    Sep 15, 2007 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    <p>I replaced my 1996 Ranger XLT with 2007 STX. Small V6, Std. Transmission, no air, limited slip, tilt, cruse control and tinted glass. Price difference in 11 years, less than $1000.00</p> <p>Love the truck! Gets 24 mpg!</p>

    Review of 2008 Ford Ranger

    Sep 15, 2007 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    <p>I just got rid of my 95 ranger,195,000 miles and most of it is still orginal parts,I just bought a new one, I&#39;m glad no major changes have been made over the years. why change things that arn&#39;t broken?</p>

    Review of 2008 Ford Ranger

    Aug 31, 2007 by: jakkndboxx
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    <p>If it&#39;s Ford it can&#39;t be much</p>

    D'oh

    Aug 16, 2007 by: fmclaug410
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    <p>This is the all new Ford Ranger? It could be a 1970&#39;s model. Where&#39;s the style? Where&#39;s the inovation? I&#39;ve been driving Ford products since the early 80&#39;s but I must say I&#39;m getting ready to try something else. Imagination doesn&#39;t cost anything. Try it or keep losing market share!</p>

    Review of 2008 Ford Ranger

    Aug 16, 2007 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    *The data and content on this web site is subject to change without notice. Neither AOL nor any of its data or content providers shall be liable for errors in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.

    Powered by

    More on the Ranger

    Whether you're a buyer or owner of the 2008 Ford Ranger we've got you covered.

    FIND A GREAT USED CAR

    GO
    Powered by
    Get a free CARFAX record check for a used car

    Great Auto Loan Rates

    Low Rates on New and Used Autos

    Powered By Apply In One Easy Step »
    Read customer reviews from Ford owners to see how they rate the 2008 Ranger; or share your opinion of the Ford Ranger.
    Best Deal:
    Our Price:
    Savings:
    MSRP:
    Go Back to Best Deals »