2002 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    MSRP
    $16,450 - $20,515
    Get a Quote
    8 Owner Reviews
    Advertisement

    2002 Chrysler PT Cruiser Owner Reviews

    Average Rating

    8 Owner Reviews

    Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Don't buy this car!

    Mar 05, 2010 by:
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    If you want to spend a ton of $$$ on repairs then this is the car for you! I have had problems about every 3 months with this car ontop of basic regular car maintence! It has overheated on me several times and I've has to replace the cooling fan sensors twice! Do youself a favor and buy a Nissan or Honda! American cars are just crap!

    Plus and Minus

    Dec 16, 2008 by:
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Loved my 2002 for the room, versatility and initial reliability. Gas mileage sucked though...19 MPG at MOST! After the warranty ran out, things started breaking. Light controls shorted out, windows stuck, brakes and tires wore fast, seat belt buckles failed, engine mount collapsed, manual clutch broke twice. Our mechanic cursed all the "plastic parts" and expensive "kits" Chrysler sells to repair things. To change the timing belt per the service recommendation, you have to take half the engine and the air conditioner/radiator stuff off. EVERY trip to repair something was $1,000+. Last year it cost me $6,000 to keep the thing running! My son bought a lightly used 2006 and is also having electrical issues, transmission repairs and is getting the same crappy gas mileage. We still LOVE the room and style...just hate the repair costs, probably will not buy Chrysler again!

    Last Chrysler i'll own

    Feb 22, 2008 by:
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    NOT SO GOOD

    Sep 05, 2007 by:
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    <p>watch out for the brakes. I owned a 2002 PT cruiser and in a years time had to change the brakes 6 times. And the car only had maybe 5000 miles put on it in that year time. We traded the car in and got me a diesel truck.</p>

    Review of 2002 Chrysler PT Cruiser

    Sep 05, 2007 by:
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    <p>We bought the car in 2002. My wife uses it the most for her business travels. We have taken many long distance trips, 800+ miles with only fuel stops, we tow a trailer when we go from WI to GA, even down to Key West. We have had one wheel bearing replaced and two window mechanisms (frozen windows.</p> <p>We plan on buying another.</p>

    PT is great!

    Sep 05, 2007 by:
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    <p>My PT is a 2002, and I bought it new in 2001. The PT still handles beautifully with tight steering and extremely quick handling in whatever I &#34;tell&#34; it to do!</p> <p>Controls on the dash are perfectly located, and the sound system is strong. There&#39;s plenty of leg room for any height person in the front and in the rear. Since I do alot of &#34;hauling&#34; (everything from plants to bales to animals), the easy fold-down rear seats are convenient and efficient for nearly any load. I have even loaded full size 36&#34; exterior doors successfully even though one end was right under the rearview mirror!</p> <p>As for people, five people comfortably ride with cargo, and the many &#34;stuff pockets&#34; in the seats and doors are a great place to carry daily or travel essentials. Extra drawers under the front seat, ample glove box and console storage provide all the easy access storage I need, and the drink holders are plentiful with two for the front and two for the back. I love the window control&#39;s being in the center of the dash and back console...no fumbling at the door or rain on the electricals when the doors are open in a storm for entry/exit!</p> <p>While the engine has plenty of punch, if I&#39;m fully loaded with folks, down-shifting is a must in the mountains! My PT has a manual-5 transmission and is a breeze to shift...FUN TOO! You folks who think you can&#39;t drive a standard are missing a lot of fun driving experiences!!</p> <p>All over rating from me is 5-star! Nearly 60,000 miles and no repairs! Never waxed and still shining! The ride will allow you to feel the road but there is no vibrating or noise...go anywhere and feel great!</p> <p>BJ</p>

    Review of 2002 Chrysler PT Cruiser

    Sep 05, 2007 by:
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Review of 2002 Chrysler PT Cruiser

    Jul 27, 2007 by:
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    <p>MPG suck. every one I have talked to has not gotten good gas milage.</p>

    *The data and content on this web site is subject to change without notice. Neither AOL nor any of its data or content providers shall be liable for errors in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.

    Powered by

    FIND A GREAT USED CAR

    GO
    Powered by
    Get a free CARFAX record check for a used car

    Great Auto Loan Rates

    Low Rates on New and Used Autos

    Powered By Apply In One Easy Step »
    Read customer reviews from Chrysler owners to see how they rate the 2002 PT Cruiser; or share your opinion of the Chrysler PT Cruiser.
    Best Deal:
    Our Price:
    Savings:
    MSRP:
    Go Back to Best Deals »