2009 Chevrolet Malibu

    (33 Reviews)




    MSRP
    $21,605 - $26,880
    Advertisement

    2009 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Reviews

    Average Rating

    33 Owner Reviews

    Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Review of 2009 Chevrolet Malibu

    Dec 10, 2009 by: boddaert2
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Overall impressed with first GM vehicle.The ride is very quiet & smooth with good acceleration and stylish exterior. Highway driving comes in at 30mpg. Comfortable and stylish interior. Enjoy the security and information from Onstar. There are some areas which need improvement. The trunk opening and height are problems. Although the trunk is deep it lacks sufficient height for any reasonable sized package and the trunk opening is very narrow for this class of car. Closing the trunk requires a hard slam. Paddle shifters on the steering wheel are more gimmick than practical and are a problem when turning corners and trying to change at the same time. Much easier when manual shifter is on the floor. Would rate equal to the Ford Fusion

    The advetisements are not true

    Nov 15, 2009 by: trshaf6
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    It was lucky to get 29 hwy let alone 33.after driving for 6 months rattles and noises are apparent.Not the quality they say.Like some other junk they make.Not happy with this car.Dealer says thats what thet get hwy,thats not what they told me when i bought it.Best on a trip was 29.6.Brotheinlaws fusion adveraged over 33.I feel i was ripped off and lied to.But you make your own choice.

    2009 Malibu 2LT is a 5-star winner!

    Sep 07, 2009 by: lknil92104
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    My wife and I bought our 2LT with an early cash for clunkers trade-in using our 1990 Plymouth Grand Voyager for the trade in. We knew we wanted the six speed automatic, as we have the same transmission in our 2007 Saturn Outlook XE AWD. What we like most about the Malibu: Its size plus the fact it has four doors; four wheel disk brakes; six speed automatic transmission; the 2.4 litre four cylinder engine in our 2LT has plenty of power; the trunk has plenty of space, and the back seats can be folded flat; our sunroof works great--in Montana in the summer time! OnStar, which we already had in the Outlook, is a great yet seldom thought of sales feature; the fit & finish of exterior and interior parts is very well done; fuel mileage is excellent for this 3,000 + pound car; safety cage construction is a real plus; cruising range over 500 miles on one tank of fuel. What don't we like about the Malibu? Not a thing has come to mind in the seven weeks and just over 2,000 miles we've had this car. Would we buy another Malibu? Absolutely! (We had originally wanted to purchase a Saturn Aura, but went with the Malibu since GM is selling its former Saturn Division to Penske Automotive Group. The Aura, as with the Outlook, are excellent products. But for whatever the reason Saturn tried too hard to be "a different kind of car".) The Aura and the Malibu are essentially the same car--but Chevrolet Division of GM will be building and servicing cars for many years to come. Well done, Chevrolet! Leah and I love our Malibu (and we certainly love our Outlook, too).

    Review of 2009 Chevrolet Malibu

    Jul 08, 2009 by: jc3gbpfan
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I was suprised by the excellant job that Chevy did on this one. Try this car and you will like it. The interior quality is very good. This car handles well has I have not been disapointed in anyway with this purchase. Usually when we purchase a new car my wife uses it but she is happy with her present car so she told me to use it. I have to laugh because I see using it more and more when she goes to the store and other small trips. I would highly reccommend you go see for yourself how nice this car is for the price.

    Never buy domestic again

    Jun 26, 2009 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I switched from a Acura TSX to this junk mobile. I thought I would give a domestic car a chance after owning many types of imports, including Honda, Acura and Nissan. I made a horrible mistake. I took for granted the reliability of imports. My Malibu making strange noises after 1 month of light driving. Took it to dealer and they said it was normal. Drove for another week and car wouldn't start one day. Dealer finally admitted that there was a problem. Should have bought the Honda Accord.

    Great Car

    Jun 16, 2009 by: chevda78
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I've had the Malibu for 2 months now and I love it just as much as the first day I drove it home from the dealer. Beautiful styling inside and out,chrome look trim,so many features, solid feel, very quiet and smooth riding and also a great radio. Anyone interested in a mid-size car would be doing themselves a great disservice if they don't check out the Malibu. I'm 58 yrs. old and have had my share of cars through the years and this is truly one amazing car for the money.

    2009 Malibu

    May 19, 2009 by: emaphylen
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Purchased a 2009 Malibu 2LT 4 cyl and 6 speed automatic trans. What a grat vehicle, smooth, quiet, fun to drive nice interior layout. The back seat is also large enough for our teenagers. We are also very pleased with the fit and finish and quality throughout. An awesome vehicle that I would highly recommend.

    LT24U

    May 08, 2009 by: wedgeclose
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Absolutely love my 2LT! Black Granite Metallic with all the toys amazing at 22K after rebates etc. Car has everything the LTZ has except the horrible two tone leather in the Z. 4cyl plenty good, quiet cruiser, base sound fine. Bluetooth standard a real plus. Awesome wheels as well. A very classy ride with change to spare. Note comparisons with Saturn Vue and Hyundai Sante Fe...the trunk is actually bigger in the Malibu than the storage space in either SUV.

    Review of 2009 Chevrolet Malibu

    Mar 27, 2009 by: carolward01
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    My neighbor just bought the new Malibu and loves it. She got a wonderful deal. I love the stlye inside and out. And it has a Pep. Great Job GM.

    5 star

    Mar 24, 2009 by: batcweiss
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Chevy did something right for a change. Finally a car to compete against Camry and Accord. After driving all three, I felt that the Malibu beat the Camry and came in a close second to the Accord. Chose the Malibu because I felt that I got more features for almost $3000 less. Absolutely, love my Malibu.

    1 2 3 4

    *The data and content on this web site is subject to change without notice. Neither AOL nor any of its data or content providers shall be liable for errors in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.

    Powered by

    More on the Malibu

    Whether you're a buyer or owner of the 2009 Chevy Malibu we've got you covered.

    FIND A GREAT USED CAR

    GO
    Powered by
    Get a free CARFAX record check for a used car

    Great Auto Loan Rates

    Low Rates on New and Used Autos

    Powered By Apply In One Easy Step »
    Read customer reviews from Chevrolet owners to see how they rate the 2009 Malibu; or share your opinion of the Chevrolet Malibu.
    Best Deal:
    Our Price:
    Savings:
    MSRP:
    Go Back to Best Deals »