2006 Chevrolet HHR

    (13 Reviews)




    MSRP
    $15,325 - $16,325
    Advertisement

    2006 Chevrolet HHR Owner Reviews

    Average Rating

    13 Owner Reviews

    Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    2006 Love it and Hate it

    Jun 21, 2010 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I have one of the 1st 2006's and owned since new. Everything we love about it has been said before. It truely rates as a great car IF you get a good one. I am not sure my issues are confined to my car. I have replaced the OEM shocks twice, once under warranty, the 2nd a year later for leaks, not on warranty. Numerous electrical shorts from new, mostly chaffing. Exhaust is blown out at 80k but sounding somehwat cool. OEM rotors are terrible, Wagner makes a beefy aftermarket, (Monroe Muffler). Front end tie rods at 70k, left hub at 60k. Although I love it, I would not buy another GM. I took a chance after a 30 year hiatus....won't make that mistake again.

    Best Car l have ever owned

    May 29, 2009 by: hstout8077
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    l bought my 2006 HHR in December 2006 and it is the best car out of 78 vehicles l have owned, (l am 78)there are a few things to get used to, window switches in the console, rear seat room tight for a big person and rough ride on not so smooth roads. l really like the Driver Information Center, (DIC) it keeps track of everything, shows MPG, average speed, oil change and many others. the 2.2 engine really gutsy and gas milage average around town, 21 to 25 MPG. best on road was 32.5. My next car will definately be the Heritage High Roof. (HHR)l have had many people buy them because of me.

    My Chevy HHR

    May 28, 2009 by: lbuck699
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I have had a great time driving my 2006 Chevy HHR, but I do have a few comments to make. First off, there are major blind spots! I am not sure if this is the case with similar body styles, but I can hardly see anything when reversing. I also wish that the model I am leasing had a navigation system. I do love how the car just whips around curves, though. Overall, the Chevy HHR is a fun, cheap, and fuel efficient car to drive on today's roads!

    HHR

    Apr 15, 2009 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I like my HHR, it is very comfortable and roomy. It is not made to last. I have had to change a tie rod and change the brakes at 37000 miles. I would not buy another.

    2006 HHR LT2 (The Chop)

    Jan 07, 2009 by: OnlyRon
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Bought him a year old from a Lexus dealer, which means I got him cheap. They don't want no stinking Chevys on their lot. All kidding aside. Black with 17in polished wheels and Chrome accents. The only way to go on any of the dark colored models. Cashmere interior, leather, sunroof, premium sound w/ sub. We love the car and have named it "Chop" (choptop)we get teased on how it reminds people of an old gangster car. Excellent ride and drive. only had one issue so far. A rattle in the steering column. GM knows about it, don't let them tell you otherwise. Warranty covered it.Joined chevyhhr.net, excellent resource and real-world info, tips, service items, quirks and things that can go wrong with any car. Been very happy with car, can't keep the Mrs. out of it. And best of all...$12,500 and it was mine. American cars are the best used car deals. But do your research.

    I Love My HHR and My Dogs Love their HHR

    Dec 28, 2008 by: ASquirmy1
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I bought my HHR in July of 2006, and have been on numerous long road trips in it. Great Gas milage! The heated seats are awesome on someone with a bad back. I can fold the seats down, and make my dogs a nice comfy bed. We took a 6,000 mile road trip this summer, and it was great! My son is 6'3" and has no problem sitting in the back seat. I researched numerous cars, suvs, etc. of all makes before I decided I wanted a HHR. I worked at GM at the time, but that really had no bearing on my purchase!! Your kids, dogs, and grandkids will love it!!

    Love my Heritage High Roof (HHR)

    Dec 17, 2008 by: tztw0s9zusr
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I bought my HHR in April 2006, and I have loved it ever since. I get on average between city and highway driving 27 to 28 miles a gallon. I have nearly 50,000 miles on it and it still runs like new. I love the radio system with 7 speakers and the XM radio/CD, and MP3 capibility on it. The heated seats, the power windows and seats. It is still fun to drive. Sun roof is great here in Florida where I live because it does not bake you cause you can open it any amount that you care to. I love the running boards cause they help you when you wash your vehicle. The paing job has not faded here in the Florida sun. I can not say enought about my HHR because it is still fun to drive and I am a big man as far as weight goes. Try it you will like it.

    I love this car!

    Jul 21, 2008 by: Demioman3
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    The HHR has got to be the single most useful vehicle I've ever owned. It is easy to get into and out of, it handles well, and the ride is much smoother than you'd expect from a car this size. The 2006 has a few minor annoyances that don't exist in later versions, still it's very livable. The car has the same or greater cargo room as many small front drive SUV's, and gets terrific gas milage. Premium is recommended for the 2.4L engine, though it runs fine on regular unleaded or mid grade. I've personally never run my HHR 2LT on premium and have experienced no pinging or loss of power which are the tell tales of needing a higher octane fuel. I would highly recommend the HHR to anyone who needs a vehicle that provides more utility than a normal sedan can offer but doesn't want to feed a heavy SUV or crossover.

    Review of 2006 Chevrolet HHR

    Jan 05, 2008 by: MoonChild3561
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Great Used Car Buy

    Nov 04, 2007 by: dsamuels55
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    <p>I traded a 1996 Grand Cherokee for a used 2006 HHR found using the internet loaded with ever option for under $12,000. HHR is a great used car buy for weekend trips to the beach. Rides nice, quiet, solid and looks particularly good in the dark gray. Fuel economy is best, over 30mpg on Highway when not going over 70 mph. I would recommend to anyone!</p>

    *The data and content on this web site is subject to change without notice. Neither AOL nor any of its data or content providers shall be liable for errors in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.

    Powered by

    More on the HHR

    Whether you're a buyer or owner of the 2006 Chevy HHR we've got you covered.

    FIND A GREAT USED CAR

    GO
    Powered by
    Get a free CARFAX record check for a used car

    Great Auto Loan Rates

    Low Rates on New and Used Autos

    Powered By Apply In One Easy Step »
    Read customer reviews from Chevrolet owners to see how they rate the 2006 HHR; or share your opinion of the Chevrolet HHR.
    Best Deal:
    Our Price:
    Savings:
    MSRP:
    Go Back to Best Deals »