2009 Chevrolet Cobalt

    (16 Reviews)




    MSRP
    $16,460
    Advertisement

    2009 Chevrolet Cobalt Owner Reviews

    Average Rating

    16 Owner Reviews

    Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    2 LT sport coup Chevy Cobalt 2009

    Apr 24, 2011 by: vikingodin57
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Love the car--BUT--it has "shopping cart" steering--difficult to park or do a U turn-Chevrolet has refused to acknowledge this--this is a flawed design issue.

    I love it, yet I hate it sometimes

    Jun 18, 2010 by: peterjarmstrong
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    So my dad purchased me a 2009 Cobalt 1LT coupe in that special red. At first the car was ****************** me driving it (I drive like Edward Cullen sometimes aka fast and thrillseeking like) and it survived an accident. However when I was in my accident OnStar didnt come on. They apoligized and gave me 3 free months. My parents purchased me more of it along with more minutes for the OnStar phone. Its for when I forget my bluetooth and the phone works well. The cars suspension is pretty good. The steering and brakes could be better. The steering loosened up like most cars which is ok. Still would like it a little more responsive. The brakes either suck or work well. I am convinced if the brakes were better I wouldnt have had my accident. Also it is on it's SECOND recall this time for the power sterring. When my mom and I took the car in for service we expressed concern over the steering collum vibrating and making noise. Turns out thats the recall. So instead of getting the part in July Chevy said they ordered me one. They covered themselves up like crazy. Gas millage is OK? I average right now about 25-26 mpg combined driving. The lighting is ok. I am used to HID or the Bi-Xenon headlights in my parents Lexus' that I drive/drove. So I may consider a HID light converter kit soon? i dont know. The car has the remote start which people envy like crazy! GREAT for cold winters and hot summers. Just make sure the ac/heating system is on what you want as you get out that way when you start it in the AM its getting ready for you. As for right now the car is ok. I would like to have a VW Jetta but VW screwed us over b/c i showed to much interest. So I love the car cuz its been through a lot with me. Yet at the same time it could be better. I ******* had a hatchback trunk opening and a more futuristic look but the car isnt being made anymore so the Cruze hopefully fills in the shoes the Cobalt leaves a little empty.

    Steering Failures

    Feb 06, 2010 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Here is something that you might find interesting..... Why is it that Toyota, after having only two dozen complaints across 8 different vehicles types (2.4 Million total vehicles - that is a failure rate of .001% - 1 in 100,000) about sticking accelerator pedals is being forced to recall 2.4 million vehicles (one was fatal but based on the time line it was partial driver error for not putting the car in Neutral and continuing to try to drive while the car accelerated) - BUT - The NHTSA has lodged 1,200 complaints of STEERING FAILURE in just 900,000 of General Motors (Government Motors) Chevy Cobalt's (.13%) - the Cobalt uses the same steering assembly as EVERY other Delta 1 vehicle GM made (Saturn Ion, Opel Astor, Pontiac G5) and the same steering contols as most of the other Saturn Models made the last 5 years...and possibly MANY other GM models but not disclosed). These other vehicles are NOT included in the total figures above since sales/complaint figures are unavailable. The steering failure makes it impossible to steer the vehicles at slow speeds and has resulted in 11 accidents - a higher percentage than the Toyota accident history. This has just hit the governments radar 2 days ago after 1,200 complaints on just the Cobalt (we do not know the other vehicles numbers) - my research indicates that the problem has been known for close to 5 years by Saturn. It should be VERY interesting to see if a recall occurs for the Cobalt and what if anything that they do with the entire Saturn, Pontiac and Opel products now that they are no longer GM divisions....

    2009 Cobalt LS Coupe Automatic

    Jan 26, 2010 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Bought as basic transportation and was pleasantly surprised by the smooth ride and relatively low road noise. Has many features not found in foreign brands.IE- Onstar, XM Satellite radio. Could not pass up for price paid,as new car incentives brought vehicle price below used car market average. Up side- Automatic trans version gets mid-30s MPG, Down side- interior appointments marginal. Blind spot in rear pillars. Its 6 year old styling at the end of its run.

    Review of 2009 Chevrolet Cobalt

    Aug 24, 2009 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    2009 Chevrolet Cobalt Sedan LT 2LT

    Aug 05, 2009 by: hotdirtbiker16
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    i own a 2009 Chevrolet Cobalt Sedan LT 2LT. it has very good handling. it tops out at 115mph. i got it at a good price. $13,000 and it only had 15,000 miles on it. great car. but no room in the back.

    I have 2 Cobalts

    Jul 07, 2009 by: wvrussell
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Got a Basic Cobalt in 2005 with auto- very nice car for the money. No trouble with it at all. Sold it to my daughter and got a '09 LT-2LT. We wanted a nicer car w/ more bells and whistles. Onstar, auto, XM, all power and traction control. Not disappointed. Great price and we love it. But my wife doesn't let me drive it much. Way more power than most cars in its class. I'll take the hit on mileage,I live near the mountains. Still WAY over 30 mpg on the highway.

    Chevy isnt getting rid of the Cobalts

    Jun 22, 2009 by: kelsic4
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I am an 08 cobalt owner and called Chevy and asked them. They talk to the voce president. They are not gettin rid of the cobalts. The aol news falsly reported that. So everyone its ok chevy isnt getting rid of the cobalts. Just the Pontiacs. It was a false alarm.

    SS Coupe

    Jun 11, 2009 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    There is nothing like it for the most bang for your buck. It is unfortunate that there will be no more.

    To: Disappointed

    Apr 17, 2009 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    You have got to be kidding!!! EVERYONE knows that you rarely get the milage listed on the sticker!!! they just recently re-figured how they get to that figure to try to get closer to real world mileage, but it will always be off. like others have said, the driver, the road, the location, the altitude and other factors determine the mileage you will actually get. to the people who have gotten that mileage or high, congradulations!!! you are not a lead footed idiot!!!...you know how to drive!!!..to disappointed...you ARE an idiot!!!..i cant believe the dealer took the car back!!!!you must have acted like a complete idiot for them to have done that....or maybe they were just trying to do whatever was nessacary to make you happy(and make you leave and NEVER come back!!!)....i just cant believe that there are people in american that are THAT stupid!!!...hey, next time you want to buy a car..try buying a few car magazines and read up on the car you want before you buy it...EVERYONE will be happier if you did!!!

    *The data and content on this web site is subject to change without notice. Neither AOL nor any of its data or content providers shall be liable for errors in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.

    Powered by

    More on the Cobalt

    Whether you're a buyer or owner of the 2009 Chevy Cobalt we've got you covered.

    FIND A GREAT USED CAR

    GO
    Powered by
    Get a free CARFAX record check for a used car

    Great Auto Loan Rates

    Low Rates on New and Used Autos

    Powered By Apply In One Easy Step »
    Read customer reviews from Chevrolet owners to see how they rate the 2009 Cobalt; or share your opinion of the Chevrolet Cobalt.
    Best Deal:
    Our Price:
    Savings:
    MSRP:
    Go Back to Best Deals »