2009 Chevrolet Aveo

    (8 Reviews)




    MSRP
    $11,965 - $15,365
    Advertisement

    2009 Chevrolet Aveo Owner Reviews

    Average Rating

    8 Owner Reviews

    Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    worst car ever

    Jul 17, 2012 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I have had nothing but problems when I purchased this car less than a year ago. I have had the same issue since I drove it off the lot as a "Certified Pre Owned" car and its less than impressive. I am filing for a Lemon Law asap for this piece of crap. I should have done more research before purchasing and wasting money.

    Nice starter car

    Aug 13, 2011 by: sarahharley2008
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    I just got my used 2009 Aveo LT/2LT. I love it already, i got it a week ago and my parents want to give me their older car for this one. The only thing i had to complain about was i expected a little bit more engine performance. But with this being my very first car ********** great. And my father being 6 foot 4, he fits in very nicely. Great Head room and features!!

    Satisfied beyond original expectations - 6'4" Driver

    May 24, 2010 by: invesmith
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    When I first saw this car, I thought no way - but was surprised to find that I fit in it quite comfortably with plenty of head room, and leg room; I'm 6'4" and weigh around 200 lbs. I got the 5-speed and was also pleasantly surprised to find that it has a gutsy little engine that performs better than originally anticipated, and handles the curves fairly well at higher speeds. I'm active in a men's organization, and have traveled multiple times with as many as 4 guys (maybe not as tall as I am, but good size men, if not heavier) in my little car. It's kind of funny, because I've always been a full-size truck or SUV guy, and I got this car during the "Cash For Clunkers" deal, otherwise I probably would not have considered it. The OnStar system is cool, and the phone works well. It's also got a sweet 5 year, 100k warranty. So for the price, it's a pretty nice deal. I think GM/Chevrolet put some quality into their vehicles recently, and I'll certainly consider this GM/Chevy brand for my next car. Oh yeah, the average 30 mpg is pretty consistent, and I'm not usually a very conservative driver ;-)

    love it

    Mar 19, 2010 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    get great gas milage, love the features, sun roof, OnStar, XM radio, all the bells and whistles of pricier model Chevy. Great little car for shoppping and saving money.

    Aveo

    Oct 09, 2009 by: bigrigger62
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    This is not a american made car it is built in Korea

    I LOVE my 2009 Chevy Aveo5 !

    Apr 23, 2009 by: frenchcarnutusa
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Great little car.I special ordered it and opted for Summer Yellow with the optional Perforated Sport Leatherette interior in Dark Charcoal.Mine is a 2LT model with the 5 speed manual transmission. I added a rear spoiler,the new style for '09 15 inch Sport Alloy Wheels, AND the Premium Factory Moonroof. The leather wrapped steering wheel and leather gear shift knob(part of the "leatherette" package) bring some class and sportiness to the car. Cadillac Escalade style "winglet" vents,the new Malibu style "face", OnStar, and XM Radio helped win my business over similar offerings from Honda and Toyota. Besides....you can't really flash your headlights at the new Camaro in one of THEIR cars ! My 2009 Chevy Aveo5 hatchback was an addition to a collection of cars which now stands at 18.It filled my need for a gas "sipper". I look at it as my "motorcycle".

    Rented an Aveo Hatchback During Car Repair

    Mar 03, 2009 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    My BMW was in the shop and I opted for economy and rented an Aveo Hatchback. It felt "small and different" and not too pretty.....very few 'amenities....." BUT the driver's seat and area was roomy and comfortable. The visibility front back and sides was excellent... and large side mirrors make viewing even easier. I found the car maneuverable on the freeway and ventured into the faster lanes with the bigger guys quite comfortably. I was VERY impressed with the gas mileage I got.... I drove a LOT for three days straight and paid only $13. to refuel! Passenger cabin is quite roomy... and the little hatchback cargo space behind the back seat worked out well for loads of groceries. Not a 'sexy' car but quite practical. Felt very safe in it because of the great visibility and the seat is high enough that you don't feel you're sitting on the road.... seemed heavy enough to ride pretty well. Not a bad car at all! Would be GREAT for a run around town and do errands second car !!!

    Good basic car for everyone.

    Dec 24, 2008 by: tztw0s9zusr
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Truth is, I was going to get a new motorcycle this year (Honda VTX 1300) but then we looked at the Aveo. The LS is as basic as it gets and that's what I was after. But the difference is that for about $2K more than the VTX you get 300CC more engine, 12gal gas tank, room to carry groceries and the dogs, OnStar, 5 year warranty, 2 more wheels and a roof. If you've had "sub-compacts" in the past, expect no suprises except for passenger room which is good even in the back. Cozy but not crowded. I like the new '09 styling. The old design looked too much like a Chevron car for both me and my spouse. "It's cute," were her first words when we hit the lot (she said the same about our Silverwing scoot)-always a good sign. From the rear, the lights are more pronounced and a trim line breaks up the old "Geo-like" bumper. The '09 interior is also an improvement. A little more understated with straight lines instead of circles from the past and the instrument cowl is a little smaller. The passenger airbag has been moved to the front of the dash and if "they" ever make a dash cover for the '09, it will look less tacky on that big, deep dashboard. Performance wise, it's no VTX, but it is not nearly as bad as you'd think. Pro reviewers say get the auto trans but I like the manual. Mileage is close to advertised It handles nice. Can make almost angular turns. The Smart might be easier to park but you'll be parking it at home to get the "other" car so you can haul your shopping home. On the minus side, I think they should have put in a full-sized spare and made the rear seats fold flat. "Flip and fold" is a good thing and the dogs are more comfortable but only if you're under 6' tall as the front seats have to go forward to accomodate it. I don't know if the Aveo (any year) will turn out to be one of those cars you hang onto ********* time like a Falcon, original Beetle or Nova but I'll bet you'll always find a few in those odd places wherever you go.

    *The data and content on this web site is subject to change without notice. Neither AOL nor any of its data or content providers shall be liable for errors in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.

    Powered by

    More on the Aveo

    Whether you're a buyer or owner of the 2009 Chevy Aveo we've got you covered.

    FIND A GREAT USED CAR

    GO
    Powered by
    Get a free CARFAX record check for a used car

    Great Auto Loan Rates

    Low Rates on New and Used Autos

    Powered By Apply In One Easy Step »
    Read customer reviews from Chevrolet owners to see how they rate the 2009 Aveo; or share your opinion of the Chevrolet Aveo.
    Best Deal:
    Our Price:
    Savings:
    MSRP:
    Go Back to Best Deals »