2008 Chevrolet Aveo 5

    (12 Reviews)




    MSRP
    $12,020
    Advertisement

    2008 Chevrolet Aveo 5 Owner Reviews

    Average Rating

    12 Owner Reviews

    Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    2008 aveo 5

    Mar 04, 2009 by: Jimr239
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    This is the first NEW vehicle we have bought in 20yrs.This aveo is by far and outstanding vehicle.It is fun to drive,100% dependable and extremly gas honorable letting us get as high as 35,pg on highway and 29 to 30 mpg in town.We have had no breakdowns since we bought a year ago.Had weatherstripping problem when it was bought but Chev Tecks fixed that and vehile has been used in wide ranges, such as very cold and frozen weather,Deeep snow ,Mountain driving,and spring driving along with summer and fall driving with no adverse effects to the ocupants.no real need for a/c as vehicle provided enough cool air with all windows rolled down.

    work car

    Nov 23, 2008 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    i bought this for transportation to and from work. i'm an electrician and needed room for tools. folding down back seat makes more than enough room for basic tooling. the basic5 met all my needs. good pick up, cruising speed, gas mileage, and roomy. i drove to louisville, ky. after purchase frome chicago on a tank of gas. got a little bit of teasing from 'the guys' but all in all worth every penny. beets the 9 miles to the gallon my k3500 gets. now my truck sits more and more. can't beat the price. kudos!

    2009 Aveo outstanding vehicle for new and old drivers

    Oct 20, 2008 by: Jaaalyl
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Originally we bought the AVEO for our 16 year old daughter, however, we now use the car for all daily errands, as well as commuting and long distance travel. The car gets great pickup for such a small engine. It handles high way driving like a pro, and we have averaged 40 miles per gallon. In city driving is also fantastic, this car can stop on a dime and we have been getting between 30 and 34 miles per gallon. The exterior is quite "hip" for the young and distinquished for us older folks. Although the car appears small, the inside is spacious. We have more elbow space in the AVEO than we do our Cavaliers. The instruments are user friendly and very easy to find and use while keeping both eyes on the road. My left eye is blind, however, the windows and the vehicle structure allows for excellant views. The only blind spot is my left eye. My young daughter drives this car like she has been driving for years. That was not the case when we let her drive our Dodge Ram 1500 or our Chevy Cavaliers...I am not petrified when she is behind the wheel of the Chevy Aveo. She can even park this car with ease, and due to its compact size, it fits anywhere. We just love our 2009 Chevy Aveo. We spend a lot of time fighting over who is going to drive the Aveo; which vehicle we are taking is not an issue any more. The AVEO is a FUN car to drive. We just can't say enough how much we LOVE our Aveo. My husband and I feel 20 years younger driving or riding in this car. I think everyone should own an Aveo. And no, Chevy did not pay me to say all this, I just really want everyone to know how glad I am that I spent one month, every day, going to dealerships and test driving well over 50 cars, both new and used. Thank God I found the AVEO. We didn't even get around the block and I knew this was the car for my daughter. (and her parents too).

    50.8 MPG

    Jul 14, 2008 by: AOL user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    We baught this car for a test it tested 37.11 MPG brand new on the hwy. We put on the HAFC Hydrogen Assist Fuel Cell by Huttner Enterprises in Dayton MN and now we get 50.8 MPG now thats SUPER!!!!! WE LOVE IT... Eat your heart out Prius!!!!!!!! and 15 grand cheaper....

    I love my little car

    Jul 14, 2008 by: AOL user

    We bought this car because of the MPG and the price. I have the bare model - no bells or whistles - and couldn't be happier. I average about 32 mpg (which is 2x better than my Silverado) and have gotten 41 MPG on a trip through Yellowstone. It doesn't get much better than that!

    ASwAAWuyOYgWWuB

    Apr 01, 2008 by: Dev without SNS user
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    Old man

    Oct 01, 2007 by: theodoredurgan
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    <p>I will get you there and back, what else do you need? it has style that looks good .</p> <p>Its cheap and is good on gas It kind of like a Model T ford that you dont have to crank, nothing Extra but much better than the T that I learned to drive in over 60 years ago . Ted Durgan</p>

    Firm little car

    Aug 28, 2007 by: jcurl101
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    <p>At first it seems as though you could push this little baby like a match box. But while sitting and driving the Aveo 5 any misconceptions about this little Korean auto are thrown out the door. Its nimble yet extremely roomy. Well equipped yet inexpensive. I walked away from the lot with a special value model for $8,500 after rebates. The fuel mileage could be better, but at $27 every two weeks for a fill up I am not really complaining. Cheers to the guys and gals at Daewoo and Chevrolet. Nice job.</p>

    Great Value

    Aug 13, 2007 by: rogueneutron1
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    <p>I am my own critic. Always have and always will. Professional auto critics will have you believe that this car is no good. However, these critics test drive high-end sports cars and somehow, I feel they are comparing this car to those.</p> <p>This car is a fantastic value! The only thing it does very well is provide great basic transportation. As for anything else? Who cares? Anyone seriously considering buying this car is looking for basic transportation.</p> <p>This car faces stiff competition, but the Fit, Yaris, Etc are more expensive. If you have the money to spend (but not enough to get a ferrari), then get a Fit, Yaris, or whatever.</p> <p>You will notice that the mpg for this car isnt the best. However, doing some math will tell you that it isnt a big deal. Overall, so far, for me, has been 29mpg. A yaris (my 2nd choice for an econobox) would have probably given me 36mpg. I drive about 700 miles/month, mostly suburban driving. If gas is $2.90/gallon, I would save only $13-$14 per month!!! WHOOPY DOO! Because I got a GM discount on the Aveo, it would have taken me years and years and years to make up the difference in the fuel savings. Your situation may be different then mine, but a few extra mpg wont kill you or the earth. These cars are already efficient.</p> <p>To answer the big question that you are thinking: it is very fun to drive. It will take off quickly. Again, for the money, this car is crazy-fun to drive. Just remember, if you want fast, get a ferrari and stay away from this car.</p> <p>I am a poor college student and I needed basic transportation. This car is perfect for just that. If anyone is in a similar situation, look no further- this car is the best choice.</p>

    DECENT CAR FOR THE MONEY

    Aug 12, 2007 by: runninref
    • Overall Rating
    • Exterior Styling
    • Interior Comfort
    • Performance
    • Quality & Durability

    <p>JUST PURCHASED A WEEK AGO AN 07&#39; AVEO5 WITH 22K ON IT FOR $9500. FIRST IMPRESSIONS ARE GOOD - I COMMUTE 100 MILES X 5 DAYS A WEEK SO GAS MILAGE IS AN ISSUE. MY FIRST RUN UNDER HOT(90 DEGREE TEMPS EVERY DAY SO AIR WAS ON ALL THE TIME)WAS WHAT I CONSIDER A SUCCESS AS I GOT 32.5 MPG ON MOSTLY HIGHWAY MILES. ENTERING THE X-WAY IS NO PROBLEM AS EXCELERATION TO 60 IS PRETTY QUICK AND IT EASILY HANDLES 70 - 75 MPH WITH NO SHAKING. I&#39;M PLEASED WITH THE RIDE OF THE CAR - THE LOWER LUMBAR SUPPORT FOR THE DRIVER IS A NICE THOUGHT BY THE PEOPLE AT CHEVY FOR COMFORT PURPOSES &amp; ALL CONTROLS ARE EASILY WITHIN REACH WHILE DRIVING. MY AVEO IS A BASE MODEL - AUTOMATIC - AM/FM RADIO - AIR CONDITIONING - REAR WIPERS - BUT IT&#39;S WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR IN A CAR AT THIS POINT IN MY LIFE. THE CAR HANDLES WELL BOTH IN CITY DRIVING &amp; ON THE HIGHWAY - HANDLED SOME DIFFICULT RAIN CONDITIONS AS STORMS BLEW THROUGH OHIO LATE LAST WEEK AND SO FAR HAS HANDLED PASSING SEMI TRUCKS WITH EASE. A LOT OF CAR ISSUES THAT PEOPLE HAVE ARE MORE DRIVER ERROR ISSUES THAN THE ACTUAL PROBLEMS WITH THE CARS. IF DRIVERS LEARN TO USE THE ON RAMPS TO THE MAX, ACCELERATING TO 60-65 WHEN POSSIBLE AS YOU ENTER THE X-WAY, THEN MERGING WITH MORE POWERFUL VEHICLES IS A LOT EASIER. THE SIGHTLINES IN THIS CAR ARE EXCELLENT WHICH HELPS WITH EXPRESSWAY DRIVING, YOU DO FEEL THE BUMPS AS OHIO ROAD CONSTRUCTION CONTINUES IT&#39;S ONSLOUGHT ON OUR SUSPENSION SYSTEMS - ROAD NOISE HAS BEEN A REPORTED ISSUE FROM OTHER REVIEWERS</p> <p>- SO IF IT&#39;S A LUXURY RIDE THAT YOU&#39;RE SEEKING, THEN THIS ISN&#39;T THE CAR FOR YOU.</p> <p>I&#39;VE HAD A LOT OF POSITIVE FEEDBACK FROM FRIENDS &amp; COWORKERS AS FAR AS LOOKS ARE CONCERNED ON THIS VEHICLE, THE LINES ARE SLEEK - DESIGNED WELL TO MINIMIZE WIND RESISTENCE AND THE FRONT &amp; REAR LIGHTING SYSTEMS SEEM DESIGNED FOR GOOD FUNCTION AS WELL AS FOR GOOD LOOKS. THE AUDIO SYSTEM IS NOT STATE OF THE ART BY ANY MEANS BUT I KNEW GOING INTO THE PURCHASE THAT I&#39;D BE ADDING AN MP3 PLAYER TO THE MIX. I&#39;M PLEASED WITH MY CHOICE.</p>

    *The data and content on this web site is subject to change without notice. Neither AOL nor any of its data or content providers shall be liable for errors in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.

    Powered by

    More on the Aveo 5

    Whether you're a buyer or owner of the 2008 Chevy Aveo 5 we've got you covered.

    FIND A GREAT USED CAR

    GO
    Powered by
    Get a free CARFAX record check for a used car

    Great Auto Loan Rates

    Low Rates on New and Used Autos

    Powered By Apply In One Easy Step »
    Read customer reviews from Chevrolet owners to see how they rate the 2008 Aveo 5; or share your opinion of the Chevrolet Aveo 5.
    Best Deal:
    Our Price:
    Savings:
    MSRP:
    Go Back to Best Deals »